Newsoul 15.6″ 4K Touchscreen Portable Monitor Review
February 27, 2025
Newsoul's 15.6-inch 4K touchscreen puts 282 ppi and 10-point touch in a matte travel monitor with one-cable USB-C, mini HDMI, speakers, a kickstand and a two-year warranty. This review covers the sharpness, touch support on each platform, the connections and the specs Newsoul leaves out.
Newsoul’s 15.6-inch 4K touchscreen, model PM157064, is built around two ideas: text so sharp you stop noticing pixels, and a screen you can reach out and use with your fingers. It pairs a 3840×2160 IPS panel with 10-point touch, a matte finish, a claimed 125% sRGB colour range, two speakers and an audio jack, a built-in kickstand, VESA mounting and a two-year warranty. One full-function USB-C cable carries both the picture and the touch signal from a laptop or phone, and a mini HDMI port covers consoles and older machines. This page used to cover Newsoul’s M156J28, a 3840×2400 QLED model that Amazon lists as unavailable. The PM157064 is the Newsoul 4K you can buy now, and it is a different kind of monitor: it swaps that model’s colour-work pitch for touch.
Two things are worth knowing before the details. First, Newsoul leaves a lot unsaid. There is no brightness figure, no contrast ratio, no viewing angle, no list of what comes in the box and no word on how much power it needs. Second, one of the numbers it does give can’t be right. Amazon’s aspect-ratio field says 16:10, but 3840×2160 is a 16:9 resolution, the same shape as a TV, so this review goes by the resolution. It also covers the 15.6-inch model only. The 18.5 and 21.5-inch options on the same listing cost less, which points to different panels, and the listing doesn’t say whether they are 4K or touch.
Key Specifications at a Glance
| Specification |
Detail |
| Model |
PM157064 |
| Screen Size |
15.6 inches |
| Resolution |
3840 x 2160 (4K UHD) |
| Pixel Density |
About 282 ppi |
| Aspect Ratio |
16:9 (Amazon’s field says 16:10, which the resolution rules out) |
| Panel Type |
IPS |
| Touch |
10-point on Windows and Android; single touch on Mac; not supported on iPhone or iPad |
| Refresh Rate |
60Hz |
| Response Time |
1 ms (Amazon’s field; no measurement method given) |
| Colour Gamut |
125% sRGB (Newsoul’s claim) |
| Brightness |
Not stated |
| Contrast Ratio |
Not stated |
| Viewing Angle |
Not stated |
| HDR / Adaptive Sync |
Not stated |
| Screen Finish |
Matte |
| Bezels |
Narrow on all four sides |
| Video Inputs |
Full-function USB-C, mini HDMI |
| Audio |
Two built-in speakers, audio jack |
| Stand and Mounting |
Built-in kickstand, VESA (hole pattern not stated) |
| Dimensions |
14 x 8.3 inches |
| Thickness |
0.27 inches in the description; 0.2 inches in the dimensions field |
| Weight |
1.8 in the description (no unit, most likely pounds); 3.78 lb in the weight field |
| In the Box |
Not stated |
| Colour |
Black |
| Warranty |
2 years |

The 4K Panel: Why Resolution Matters at 15.6 Inches
Most 15.6-inch portable monitors are 1080P, which works out to about 141 pixels per inch. This one fits 3840×2160 into the same size, about 282 ppi, exactly twice as many pixels along each edge. That’s about what you get on a high-end laptop display, and it changes how the monitor feels in daily use more than anything else on the spec sheet. Letters have clean edges, thin gridlines in spreadsheets and drawings stay crisp, and photos show detail that a 1080P screen has to throw away.
You won’t run it at full 4K with nothing scaled, though. At 100% scaling, text on a 15.6-inch 4K screen is too small for most eyes. The useful settings sit in between. At 200% in Windows, you get the same amount of room as a 1080P screen, but every character is drawn with four times the pixels, so it looks printed rather than displayed. At 150%, you get the working space of a 2560×1440 monitor: smaller text, still sharp, and enough width for two documents side by side. On a Mac, the “looks like 1920 x 1080” setting gives the same result as 200%. Which one suits you depends on your eyesight and how far back the screen sits, and most people settle somewhere between the two.
The cost is extra work for your computer. A 4K screen asks the graphics chip to draw four times as many pixels as a 1080P one. Any recent laptop handles documents, browsing and video at 4K without complaint, but an older machine with basic integrated graphics can feel sluggish when you drag windows across, and 4K gaming is out of reach for most laptops anyway. If yours struggles, setting the monitor to 2560×1440 or 1920×1080 in your display settings is a simple fallback.
Colour: What 125% sRGB Does and Doesn’t Tell You
Newsoul’s colour claim is 125% sRGB. sRGB is the colour standard that websites, most photos and most streaming video are made for, and a panel that goes beyond it can show richer reds and greens than a basic office screen. That’s the good news. The catch is that a figure over 100% usually describes how big the colour range is compared with sRGB, not how accurately the monitor hits it. A panel can cover a larger area overall and still miss parts of the sRGB range, and without an accuracy figure, such as a Delta E number or a factory calibration report, there’s no way to know how true the colours are out of the box. Neither is listed.
In practice, expect vivid, punchy colour for video, games and slides, which is what most people want from a travel screen. If you edit photos for clients or for print, treat it as a viewing screen rather than a reference one. A wide-range panel without a dedicated sRGB mode can also make ordinary web pages look a little oversaturated, and Newsoul doesn’t mention one. For colour-critical work on the road, our INNOCN 15.6″ 4K OLED touchscreen review covers a touch monitor that lists 100% DCI-P3 instead.
Touch: The Real Reason to Pick This One
Plenty of portable monitors are 4K. Far fewer combine 4K with touch, and that’s where this Newsoul earns its place. On a Windows laptop or an Android phone it follows up to ten fingers at once, so pinch-to-zoom, two-finger scrolling, swiping and rotating work the way they do on a tablet. It turns an ordinary non-touch laptop into a two-screen setup where one screen responds to your hand: flicking through a long PDF, zooming into a map or a floor plan, tapping through a presentation, or turning the screen round so a client can browse photos themselves.
Your platform decides whether that’s worth paying for. Windows and Android get full multi-touch. On a Mac, Newsoul says touch is limited to single touch, which means taps act like mouse clicks, with no pinching or gesture scrolling; macOS has never treated external touch screens as a first-class feature. On an iPhone or iPad, touch doesn’t work at all. If your main device is from Apple, you’d be paying for a feature you’ll barely use, and a non-touch 4K monitor makes more sense.

Setup depends on the cable. With a full-function USB-C connection, video and touch travel down the same cable, so there’s nothing extra to plug in. With mini HDMI, the picture arrives over HDMI, but touch needs a separate USB-A to USB-C cable back to the computer, and the monitor needs its own power supply. On Windows, a touch monitor added as a second screen sometimes sends your taps to the wrong display. If that happens, open Control Panel, go to Tablet PC Settings, choose Setup and tap the Newsoul screen when asked. Windows then maps touch to the right monitor.
Nothing in the description covers how steady the kickstand is, or which angles it holds. That matters more on a touch screen than on a normal one, because every tap pushes against it, and a stand that’s fine for watching can rock under a firm finger. If you plan to use touch a lot, give it a solid surface or put it on a VESA arm.
Brightness, Contrast and Motion: The Gaps
The spec sheet has no brightness figure, no contrast ratio and no viewing angle. Those are unusual gaps for a 4K touch monitor, and brightness is the one to care about. Brands tend to print the number when it’s a strong one, so its absence is a hint, not proof. Most portable IPS panels land somewhere around 250 to 400 nits, which is comfortable indoors, weak beside a sunny window and poor outdoors. We’d treat this as an indoor screen until Newsoul publishes a figure. If you work in bright rooms, Newsoul’s own 16-inch 4K model lists 1,200 nits and a 2000:1 contrast ratio. The matte finish helps either way: it cuts reflections, and on a touch screen it hides fingerprints better than glossy glass.
Amazon’s response-time field reads 1 ms, with no method given. On a 60Hz IPS panel that’s best read as a best-case figure. It also matters less than it sounds. At 60Hz a new frame arrives every 16.7 ms, so the refresh rate, not the response time, limits how smooth motion looks. Scrolling and video will look normal, and fast shooters will feel like they do on any 60Hz screen. Newsoul doesn’t mention adaptive sync or HDR, so don’t count on either.
Connectivity and Power
| Connection |
What It Carries |
Notes |
| Full-function USB-C |
Video, audio and touch |
Your laptop or phone’s USB-C port must output video (DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt) |
| Mini HDMI |
Video and audio |
Touch needs a USB-A to USB-C cable to the computer; the monitor needs external power |
| Power |
Power in |
Required with mini HDMI; the port and adapter wattage are not stated |
| Audio jack |
Headphones or speakers |
Plug headphones into the monitor instead of the source device |
The first thing to check is your laptop’s USB-C port. Only ports with video output can drive this monitor over one cable, and plenty of budget laptops have USB-C ports that only charge and move data. Look for a small DisplayPort logo or a Thunderbolt lightning bolt next to the port, or check the laptop’s spec page for “DisplayPort Alt Mode” or “video output”. Phones need the same thing. Samsung phones with DeX and a number of other Android phones output video over USB-C, but many cheaper ones don’t. USB-C iPhones and iPads can send video too, though touch won’t work with them.
Power is the other open question. The description says the USB-C connection handles the signal and touch, but it never says whether a laptop can power the monitor through that same cable, and the box contents aren’t listed, so there’s no confirmation of a power adapter or even which cables you get. 4K panels generally draw more power than 1080P ones. Plan on keeping a USB-C charger nearby, especially with a phone, whose battery would drain quickly running a 15.6-inch screen, and ask the seller what’s in the box if you need a particular cable.
The listing’s port fields don’t clear things up. They count four USB ports, two of them USB 2.0, plus one HDMI, while the description only talks about a full-function USB-C and a mini HDMI. The exact layout isn’t stated, and neither is the HDMI version. That matters for consoles, because 4K at 60Hz needs HDMI 2.0, and an HDMI 1.4 port tops out at 4K 30Hz.
Gaming and Consoles
Newsoul names the PS4, PS5, Xbox and Switch, all through mini HDMI. A PS5 or an Xbox Series X can send a 4K picture, which suits the panel, as long as the port handles 4K at 60Hz. A standard PS4 and the original Switch output 1080P, which the monitor scales up, while the Switch 2 dock goes up to 4K. Consoles don’t use the touch layer, so for them this is simply a 4K-capable 60Hz screen with speakers. That makes it a good travel screen for story games, sports titles and co-op in a hotel room, and a poor pick for competitive shooters, where a 144Hz portable makes a real difference.
Design, Stand and Portability
The body measures 14 by 8.3 inches, only a little larger than the screen itself. A 15.6-inch 16:9 panel is about 13.6 by 7.7 inches, so the narrow-bezel claim adds up. That’s roughly the footprint of a 15-inch laptop, so plan your bag around that. Thickness is 0.27 inches in the description and 0.2 inches in the dimensions field, which is thin either way.
Weight is less clear. The description gives 1.8 with no unit, which most likely means pounds, about 0.8 kg and in line with other 15.6-inch portables. The weight field says 3.78 lb, which is more likely the boxed weight. If weight matters to you, confirm it with the seller before buying.
The built-in kickstand means there’s no folding cover to fiddle with and nothing separate to forget, and VESA mounting lets it go on an arm or a wall bracket at home. The VESA hole pattern isn’t given. 75 x 75 mm is common on portable monitors, but check before you buy a mount.
Speakers and Audio
Two built-in speakers cover calls, YouTube and background music, and Newsoul doesn’t give their output. Treat them as convenience speakers: fine for a video call in a quiet room, thin for a film. The audio jack is the more useful half. Sound from the laptop, phone or console comes through the monitor, so you can plug headphones into the screen rather than the device, which is handy when a console sits across a hotel desk.
How It Compares
The closest match we’ve reviewed is the EVICIV 4K portable monitor, another 15.6-inch 3840×2160 touchscreen with the same 125% sRGB claim. On paper they’re close enough that the stand, any stated brightness and what comes in the box should decide it, so compare those three before buying. If colour accuracy matters more than cost, the INNOCN 4K OLED touch model mentioned above is the step up. And if you want touch but don’t need 4K, a 1080P touchscreen such as the InnoView 15.6″ touchscreen does the same gestures for noticeably less money, at half the pixel density. Our buying guide covers the rest of the field.
Potential Drawbacks to Consider
| Consideration |
Detail |
| No brightness, contrast or viewing-angle figures |
The three numbers that describe how a screen looks in a real room are missing. Treat it as an indoor monitor until Newsoul publishes them. |
| Box contents not listed |
No confirmation of which cables are included or whether a power adapter comes with it. |
| Power needs not stated |
It isn’t clear whether a laptop can power it over the video cable. Mini HDMI use needs a separate power supply. |
| Limited touch on Apple devices |
Single touch on a Mac, none on iPhone or iPad. |
| 60Hz only |
Fine for work and video, not for competitive gaming. |
| Conflicting listing figures |
Aspect ratio (16:10 against a 16:9 resolution), thickness (0.2 or 0.27 inches) and weight (1.8 or 3.78 lb) don’t agree. |
| Port layout and HDMI version not given |
4K at 60Hz from a console depends on an HDMI version the listing doesn’t state. |
| Colour accuracy unknown |
125% sRGB describes range, not accuracy, and there’s no calibration data. |
Who This Monitor Is Best For
Windows laptop users who want touch without buying a touch laptop: the Newsoul adds a high-resolution touch screen beside the one you already have. Scroll, zoom and tap on the second screen while the laptop’s keyboard and trackpad carry on as normal.
Android phone users with a desktop mode: with a phone that outputs video over USB-C, one cable gives you a 15.6-inch touch desktop, and multi-touch works fully on Android.
People who read and write for a living: at 282 ppi, text looks as sharp as it does on a premium laptop, which makes long days of documents, code or research easier on the eyes than a 1080P portable.
Presenters and anyone who shows work to clients: stand it on its kickstand facing across the table and let people tap through photos, plans or a slide deck themselves.
Who Should Look Elsewhere
Mac, iPhone and iPad users: touch is single-point on a Mac and absent on iOS and iPadOS. A non-touch 4K portable gives you the same sharpness without paying for touch.
Anyone working near windows or outdoors: with no brightness figure, this isn’t a safe bet for bright rooms. Newsoul’s 16-inch 4K, with its stated 1,200 nits, is the brighter choice from the same brand.
Competitive gamers: 60Hz is the ceiling. A 144Hz 1080P portable usually costs less and plays better.
Buyers who want everything confirmed up front: if you need to know the brightness, the box contents and the power needs before you pay, Newsoul hasn’t published them. Ask the seller first or choose a monitor that states them.
Pros and Cons
| Pros |
Cons |
| 4K on 15.6 inches: about 282 ppi, twice the pixel density of a 1080P screen |
No brightness, contrast or viewing-angle figures |
| 10-point touch on Windows and Android |
Single touch on Mac, no touch on iPhone or iPad |
| Video and touch over one USB-C cable |
Box contents and power needs not stated |
| Mini HDMI for consoles and older laptops |
HDMI version not given, so 4K 60Hz from consoles is unconfirmed |
| Matte finish cuts glare and hides fingerprints |
60Hz only |
| Built-in kickstand plus VESA mounting |
Kickstand angles and stability not stated |
| Two speakers and an audio jack |
Listing figures conflict on aspect ratio, thickness and weight |
| Two-year warranty |
125% sRGB says nothing about colour accuracy |
Final Verdict
The Newsoul PM157064 gets the important part right. 4K at 15.6 inches is about as sharp as portable monitors get at this size, and 10-point touch makes it more than a spare screen: on Windows or Android it’s a second screen you can use with your hands. Video and touch over one USB-C cable, a matte finish, a kickstand, VESA holes, speakers, an audio jack and a two-year warranty make a sensible package around it.
What holds it back is the listing, not the hardware. Newsoul skips brightness, contrast, viewing angle, box contents and power requirements, and its aspect-ratio field contradicts its own resolution. None of that means the monitor is bad, but it does mean buying partly on trust. Brightness is the biggest unknown, so until there’s a number, plan on using it indoors.
Our take: if you use Windows or Android and want a touch screen that’s also sharp enough for long reading and writing sessions, this is a strong candidate, and worth comparing directly with the EVICIV 4K touch. If you’re on a Mac, need a bright screen or play competitive games, the limits of the touch layer and the missing numbers work against it, and a different monitor will serve you better.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the screen 16:9 or 16:10?
16:9. Amazon’s aspect-ratio field says 16:10, but the native resolution is 3840×2160, which is 16:9, and the 14 x 8.3-inch body is the right size for a 16:9 15.6-inch panel. A 16:10 4K panel would be 3840×2400.
Does touch work on a MacBook?
Only as single touch, according to Newsoul. Taps work like mouse clicks, but pinch-to-zoom and multi-finger gestures don’t. For full 10-point touch you need Windows or Android.
Can I use touch over HDMI?
Yes, with an extra cable. The picture goes over mini HDMI, touch needs a USB-A to USB-C cable to the computer, and the monitor needs its own power supply. Over a full-function USB-C cable, video and touch share one cable.
Will it run from one USB-C cable?
For video and touch, yes, if your device’s USB-C port outputs video. Whether the same cable can also power it isn’t stated, and neither is what’s in the box, so keep a USB-C charger handy, especially when running it from a phone.
How bright is it?
Newsoul doesn’t say. With no brightness, contrast or viewing-angle figures, treat it as an indoor monitor and ask the seller before relying on it near windows or outdoors.
Does it work with an iPhone or iPad?
Not for touch, which Newsoul says isn’t supported on either. USB-C iPhones and iPads can send video over USB-C, so it should work as a plain display, but the listing doesn’t confirm that.
How is this different from the Newsoul M156J28 this page used to cover?
They’re different monitors. The M156J28 was a QLED model at 3840×2400 (16:10) that advertised 100% AdobeRGB, 600 nits and a metal body, aimed at colour work, and Amazon now lists it as unavailable. The PM157064 is an IPS touchscreen at 3840×2160 (16:9) with a 125% sRGB claim, no stated brightness, a kickstand and a two-year warranty instead of one. If you want touch, it’s the one to consider.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.