AOC 16T20 15.6″ Portable Monitor Review
April 10, 2025
The AOC 16T20 is a 15.6-inch 1080P IPS portable monitor that runs from one USB-C cable, weighs 1.54 lb and uses its smart cover as the stand. This review covers the panel, the 20ms question, connectivity, what is and is not in the box, and who it suits.
AOC is one of the largest display makers in the world, part of TPV Technology, and the 16T20 is its budget portable monitor: a 15.6-inch 1920×1080 IPS panel in a frameless glossy body 0.38 inches thick and 1.54 lb, with two USB-C ports, a mini HDMI input, built-in speakers, a low blue light mode and a VESA mount. It runs at 60Hz, draws 10W, needs no driver on any device, and comes with a smart cover that folds into its stand, a USB-C cable and a three-year manufacturer warranty. Amazon’s fields give a 1000:1 contrast ratio, a 170-degree viewing angle and a 20ms response time, and give no brightness or colour-gamut figure. It replaces the 16T10 this page used to cover, which Amazon now lists as unavailable, and it is the more popular of the two by a distance: Amazon’s Choice, 4.5 stars from 721 buyers, and more than a thousand sold in the past month.
AOC calls it a 16-inch monitor in the title and a 15.6-inch one in every field, and the model name follows the same habit; the panel is 15.6 inches.
Key Specifications
| Specification |
Detail |
| Screen Size |
15.6 inches, frameless (16″ in the title) |
| Resolution |
1920 x 1080 (Full HD), 141 ppi |
| Panel Type |
IPS, LED backlit |
| Refresh Rate |
60Hz |
| Response Time |
20ms (Amazon’s field) |
| Viewing Angle |
170 degrees horizontal and vertical |
| Contrast Ratio |
1000:1 |
| Brightness |
Not stated |
| Color Gamut |
Not stated |
| Screen Finish |
Glossy |
| Eye Care |
Low blue light mode |
| Ports |
2x USB-C, 1x mini HDMI |
| Speakers |
Built in; output not stated |
| Stand |
Smart cover, folds into a stand |
| VESA Mount |
Yes; pattern not stated |
| Power Consumption |
10W |
| Thickness |
0.38 inches |
| Weight |
1.54 lb |
| Dimensions |
13.94 x 8.76 x 0.38 inches |
| Compatible Devices |
Desktop, laptop, gaming console, smartphone, tablet |
| In the Box |
Monitor, smart cover, USB-C cable, user manual |
| Model |
16T20 (Smart Cover version) |
| Manufacturer |
AOC (TPV Technology) |
| Warranty |
3 years, manufacturer |
Display and Design
1920×1080 on 15.6 inches is 141 pixels per inch, the same density as a standard 15-inch laptop screen, so a window dragged across keeps its size and its sharpness. AOC quotes the IPS panel at 170 degrees both ways, a little under the 178 degrees most IPS panels claim and not a difference you will see with the monitor beside a laptop. The 1000:1 contrast ratio is the ordinary IPS figure. What is missing is a brightness number; AOC does not give one and neither does Amazon, so treat this as an indoor screen, which the glossy finish also argues for. Gloss gives colour a little more punch in a dim room and throws reflections in a bright one, and there is no matte option on this listing.

The one figure that deserves a second look is the response time. Amazon’s field says 20ms, four times what the old 16T10 listed and slow by any current standard; AOC’s own bullets do not give a figure at all. At 60Hz a frame lasts about 16ms, so if 20ms is right, fast motion will smear a little in games and scrolling. For documents, video calls and streaming it will not matter, and that is what this monitor is for. The low blue light mode is the only eye-care feature listed; nothing is said about flicker.
Power draw is 10W, well within what a laptop USB-C port supplies, which is why AOC ships no adapter. The old 16T10 listed 22W and needed a power cord in the box; this one runs from the laptop. For how portable monitors take power over USB-C, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.
Connectivity
| Port |
Count |
Function |
| USB-C |
2 |
Video and power from a laptop; power input when using HDMI |
| Mini HDMI |
1 |
Video input for consoles, desktops and older laptops |
One USB-C cable from a laptop whose port carries video does the whole job, and that cable is in the box. Over HDMI the monitor still needs power through one of the USB-C ports, and AOC includes neither a mini HDMI cable nor an adapter, so a console setup means buying a mini HDMI cable and using a phone charger. No driver is needed on Windows, macOS, consoles or phones with USB-C video, and AOC names the PS5, Xbox and Switch as supported over HDMI. There is no headphone jack listed, so the built-in speakers or the source device carry the sound.
Smart Cover and VESA
The smart cover is a magnetic folding cover that protects the glass in a bag and folds into a stand on the desk, with a few positions rather than a free tilt. It is the cheaper of two versions of the 16T20 on Amazon; the other has a built-in kickstand and costs more, and the two share the listing’s reviews. With the cover on, the 0.38-inch monitor stays thin enough for a laptop sleeve, and at 1.54 lb it is among the lighter 15.6-inch panels.
The back also takes a VESA mount, so the same monitor can sit on an arm as a fixed second screen at a desk and come off it for travel. AOC does not give the hole pattern; 75×75 is the usual size on portables, but confirm it before buying an arm. For desk setups with a VESA-mounted portable, see our ergonomic setup guide.
What’s in the Box
| Item |
Quantity |
| 15.6″ Portable Monitor |
1 |
| Smart Cover |
1 |
| USB-C Cable |
1 |
| User Manual |
1 |
That is the whole list. The 16T10 shipped an HDMI cable and a power cord and no USB-C cable; the 16T20 flips it, with the USB-C cable in the box and nothing for HDMI. If a console or an HDMI-only laptop is the plan, add a mini HDMI to HDMI cable and a USB charger to the order.
Drawbacks
| Consideration |
Detail |
| 20ms Response Time |
Amazon’s field; slow for motion if accurate. AOC gives no figure of its own. |
| Brightness Not Stated |
No nit figure from AOC or Amazon. Assume indoor use. |
| Color Gamut Not Stated |
Colour coverage cannot be judged for creative work. |
| Glossy Finish |
Reflects windows and overhead lights; no matte version on this listing. |
| No HDMI Cable, No Adapter |
Console and HDMI use needs a mini HDMI cable and a USB charger you supply. |
| Speaker Output Not Stated |
Speakers are listed, their power is not, and there is no headphone jack in the listing. |
| VESA Pattern Not Stated |
Confirm before buying an arm. |
| Title Says 16 Inches |
Every field says 15.6; the 16 is AOC’s naming. |
| 60Hz |
Fine for work and video, not for fast gaming. |
Is This Monitor Right For You?
If you want a brand-name 1080P second screen at the bottom of the price range, this is the one most people are buying. AOC’s three-year warranty is three times the cover most portable monitors carry, the USB-C cable is in the box, the cover is the stand, and 1.54 lb at 0.38 inches goes in any laptop bag. For how AOC compares with the other big-brand portables, see the MSI Pro MP161 review and the Acer PM161Q review.
If the monitor will live on a desk part of the time, the VESA mount covers that, and the smart cover covers the rest of the week. One purchase, two jobs.
If you need speakers in the screen, the 16T20 has them, which the 16T10 did not list. Do not expect much from them; AOC gives no output figure.
If you need a stated brightness, a matte finish or a fast panel, look elsewhere. No brightness figure, a glossy screen and a 20ms response in Amazon’s field are three reasons a gamer or an outdoor worker should keep browsing. Our portable monitors category and comparison pages list matte 1080P panels with full spec sheets at similar money.
Final Verdict
The AOC 16T20 is a plain 15.6-inch 1080P IPS portable monitor from a maker that will still be in business when the three-year warranty runs out, and at the price Amazon is asking that is most of the argument. It is thin and light, it runs from one USB-C cable with no driver, the cover is the stand, it has speakers and a VESA mount, and 721 buyers have rated it 4.5 stars. For a laptop user who wants a second screen for documents, calls and video, that is the whole list of requirements met.
The listing is thin where it counts for anyone fussier: no brightness, no colour gamut, a glossy finish only, no HDMI cable or adapter in the box, and a 20ms response time that AOC neither confirms nor corrects. If you want a matte screen, a number for brightness or a panel for gaming, spend more. If you want a cheap, well-backed second screen for work, this is the safe pick. For alternatives with fuller listings, see our buying guide.

Frequently Asked Questions
Is it 15.6 or 16 inches?
15.6 inches. AOC puts 16 in the title and the model name, and 15.6 in every specification field, including the size picker. The panel is the same 15.6-inch size as the old 16T10.
Is the 20ms response time real?
It is what Amazon’s field says, and AOC’s own bullets give no figure. If it is accurate, fast motion in games will blur slightly; office work, browsing and video are unaffected. If response time matters to you, ask AOC for the panel’s own specification before buying.
What comes in the box?
The monitor, the smart cover, one USB-C cable and the manual. There is no HDMI cable and no power adapter, so HDMI use needs both bought separately.
Does it need a power adapter?
Not from a laptop over USB-C; it draws 10W and the port supplies that. From a console or an HDMI source, yes: connect a USB charger to one of the USB-C ports, since HDMI carries no power.
Does it have speakers?
Yes, built in, with no output figure given and no headphone jack listed. Expect enough for a call or a video, not for music.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.