DisplayLink Docking Station Review
Dive into the DisplayLink Docking Station Review to discover if this tech wonder lives up to your multitasking ambitions. Seamless connectivity awaits!
The 4URPC 14-in-1 is a DisplayLink docking station that runs three monitors from three HDMI ports, charges the laptop at up to 100W from an included 120W power adapter, and adds five USB ports, an Ethernet port, SD and microSD slots and a headphone jack, all through one USB-C cable to the laptop. It stands upright at 4.64 by 1.81 by 4.38 inches in silver-grey. Because it is DisplayLink rather than a plain USB-C hub, it drives three external screens on Apple Silicon MacBooks from M1 to M4, including the base chips that macOS otherwise limits to one external display, and it does the same on Windows and ChromeOS laptops. The price of that is a driver install before the multi-monitor output works, which is true of every DisplayLink dock. 4URPC covers it with a 24-month warranty.

Displaylink Docking Station 3 Monitors, 120W Power Adapter, 5 USB Ports
Display Output: Three HDMI Ports
All three video outputs are HDMI, which is a simpler arrangement than the older 4URPC 17-in-1 with its mix of three HDMI and two DisplayPort sockets. Three HDMI means three of the same cable, and almost every monitor sold in the last decade has an HDMI input, so there is no adapter hunt. The listing sells the dock as a three-monitor station; the resolution and refresh rate it supports on each port are not given in the listing’s specification table, so confirm those figures in the listing bullets before pairing it with a 4K@144Hz or 8K monitor. For three 1080P or 1440P office screens, a DisplayLink dock of this class has headroom to spare.
The multi-monitor part depends on the DisplayLink driver. Without it, a DisplayLink dock shows nothing on its DisplayLink outputs, and the specification table does not say whether one of the three HDMI ports works driver-free through the laptop’s own video signal, as HDMI 1 did on the 17-in-1. Assume all three need the driver until 4URPC’s bullets say otherwise. Once the driver is installed, plugging in the USB-C cable brings all three screens up together, and that is a one-time setup per computer.
Compatibility: Apple Silicon to Chromebook
This is where DisplayLink earns its place for Mac owners. A base M1, M2, M3 or M4 MacBook drives one external display through its ports, and no amount of adapters changes that. DisplayLink renders the extra screens through the driver and sends them over USB, which is how this dock gets three monitors out of a MacBook Air. 4URPC lists M1 through M4 with the Pro and Max variants, the MacBook Air M4, and Intel MacBooks with Thunderbolt 3 from late 2016 on.
On the Windows side the list is long: Dell XPS, Latitude and Inspiron, Microsoft Surface Pro, Go, Book and Laptop, HP ProBook, EliteBook and Spectre x360, Lenovo ThinkPad, IdeaPad and Yoga, LG Gram, and any other laptop with a full-featured USB-C port. Operating systems are Windows 10 and 11, macOS 10.15 Catalina and later, and ChromeOS. Amazon’s two ChromeOS lines disagree with each other, one saying version 100 and later and the other setting the minimum at 134; if you run a Chromebook, take the higher figure as the safe one.
Port Breakdown: 14 by 4URPC’s Count
Video: three HDMI outputs, covered above.
USB: five ports in total, a mix of USB-A and USB-C according to Amazon’s interface field, which lists USB 3.0 for both types. The split between USB-A and USB-C and the speed of each port are not given in the specification table. Five is enough for a keyboard, a mouse, a webcam and an external drive with one to spare.
Network, cards and audio: an Ethernet port for a wired connection, SD and microSD slots for camera and drone cards, and a 3.5mm audio jack for headphones or desk speakers.
Power and host: a DC input for the 120W adapter and the USB-C connection to the laptop. Counting those two, the total comes to 14.
| Port Type | Specs | Use Case |
|---|---|---|
| HDMI (x3) | Resolution and refresh per port not given in the specification table | Three monitors |
| USB (x5) | USB-A and USB-C, USB 3.0 per Amazon’s interface field; split and speeds not stated | Keyboard, mouse, webcam, drives |
| Ethernet | Speed not stated | Wired network |
| SD / microSD | Card readers | Photo and video import |
| 3.5mm audio | Headphone jack | Headphones, speakers |
| USB-C host | To the laptop; 100W charging | Single-cable connection |
| DC input | 120W adapter included | Dock and laptop power |
Power Delivery: 120W Adapter, 100W to the Laptop
The 120W power adapter comes in the box, and the dock passes up to 100W of it to the laptop over the USB-C host cable. That is enough to charge a 15 or 16-inch laptop at full speed while three monitors and a desk full of peripherals run off the dock. The 20W left over is what the dock and its USB ports use for themselves. Many docks at this price ask you to supply the power brick; here it is included, which is worth $30 to $50 against a dock that ships without one.
Driver Installation and Setup
Install the DisplayLink driver before you expect three screens. On Windows it is a short installer that then runs in the background. On macOS the driver asks for screen recording permission, which is how DisplayLink captures the extra desktops to send them over USB; that permission prompt puts some people off, but it is the mechanism, not a fault. On ChromeOS a DisplayLink app does the same job. After that, connection is one cable.
The trade-off that comes with DisplayLink on any dock: the laptop’s processor does the rendering for the DisplayLink screens. On a recent laptop that is not noticeable for office work and video calls. On an older or low-powered machine, or for gaming and colour-critical video work, a native Thunderbolt dock is the better tool.
What’s in the Box
The docking station and the 120W power adapter are confirmed by the listing. A USB-C host cable is the norm for this kind of dock, but the specification table does not itemise the contents, so check the box list on Amazon if you need a particular cable length.
Warranty and Support
4URPC gives the dock a 24-month warranty, on top of Amazon’s 30-day return window. For a DisplayLink dock, where an occasional driver update or a laptop-specific quirk is part of ownership, two years of cover is the right length.
Pros and Cons
What Stands Out
- Three monitors from one USB-C cable, on Apple Silicon MacBooks as well as Windows and ChromeOS
- Three matching HDMI outputs, so no adapter or DisplayPort cable hunt
- 120W power adapter included, with 100W to the laptop
- Five USB ports, Ethernet, SD and microSD, and a headphone jack in one upright unit
- Works with base M1, M2, M3 and M4 chips that are otherwise limited to one external display
- Long compatibility list across Apple, Dell, Surface, HP, Lenovo and LG
- Small footprint at 4.64 by 1.81 inches, standing 4.38 inches tall
- 24-month warranty
What Could Be Better
- DisplayLink driver required before any multi-monitor output
- Per-port resolution and refresh rate not given in the specification table
- USB port split and speeds, and Ethernet speed, not stated
- DisplayLink rendering uses the laptop’s processor
- macOS asks for screen recording permission for the driver
- No DisplayPort outputs, unlike the older 17-in-1
- Desk-bound because of the external power adapter
- Kensington lock slot not mentioned
Who Is This Docking Station For?
MacBook owners who need three external monitors. This is the main reason to buy a DisplayLink dock at all. Apple limits base M-series chips to one external display; this dock takes that limit away for a MacBook Air or a base MacBook Pro.
Professionals with multi-monitor workflows on Windows or ChromeOS: analysts, developers, editors and project managers who want three screens and every peripheral through a single cable, and who would rather have three HDMI sockets than a mix of standards.
Anyone consolidating a desk. One dock replaces the monitor adapters, the USB hub, the card reader and the laptop charger, and the upright shape takes up less desk than a flat dock.
It is not the right choice if you need a dock for travel, if you cannot install drivers on your work laptop, if you only need one external screen, or if you want a Thunderbolt dock for gaming or colour-critical video work.
Final Verdict
The 4URPC 14-in-1 does the job most people buy a DisplayLink dock for: three monitors and a charged laptop from one USB-C cable, on a Mac or a PC, with the power brick in the box and enough ports to clear the desk. Three HDMI outputs make it simpler to wire up than its 17-in-1 predecessor, and the 24-month warranty is a sensible length for a driver-based dock.
Before you buy, read the listing bullets for the per-port resolution and the USB speeds, which the specification table does not give, and make sure the laptop can take the DisplayLink driver. With those two boxes ticked, this is a straightforward way to give a MacBook Air or a Windows laptop a three-screen desk.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
I evaluate docking stations the way they actually get used — against real bandwidth budgets, power-delivery ceilings, and the OS handshakes that quietly cap what a port can do — not spec-sheet promises. Every constraint that can break a multi-display setup is disclosed before any affiliate link.
Docking Station Intelligence
The standards are confusing by design. These three panels decode what manufacturers won’t explain clearly. Applicable to every docking station.
The USB-C Confusion Matrix
The USB-C connector is the single greatest source of buyer confusion in docking stations. The physical plug looks identical whether it carries USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps or Thunderbolt 5 at 120 Gbps — a 250x difference in capability hidden behind the same shape. Manufacturers exploit this by labeling everything "USB-C compatible" without specifying which protocol runs through it. Two docks can look identical on the outside and behave completely differently once you plug them in.
The hierarchy matters because it determines everything: how many monitors your dock can drive, how fast files transfer, whether your laptop charges while docked, and whether you need third-party drivers. Here is the real capability ladder, from slowest to fastest:
The practical takeaway: if your laptop has Thunderbolt 4, buy a Thunderbolt dock. If it only has generic USB-C, verify whether it supports DisplayPort Alt Mode before buying anything with multi-monitor claims. Our buying guide walks through verification steps for every major laptop brand.
Power Delivery: What the Watts Mean
Power Delivery (PD) determines whether your docking station can charge your laptop while you work, or whether you need a separate charger cluttering your desk. The math is simple but rarely explained: your laptop draws a specific wattage under load, and the dock must match or exceed it. If the dock delivers less than your laptop needs, the battery slowly drains even while plugged in — defeating the purpose of a docking station entirely.
Most ultrabooks need 45–65W. Standard business laptops need 65–100W. Gaming and workstation laptops can demand 100–140W or more. The dock’s advertised PD wattage is the maximum it can deliver to your laptop — but this drops if you charge other devices (phones, tablets) through the dock simultaneously. Always leave a 15–20W margin above your laptop’s requirement.
Check your laptop’s original charger wattage — that’s your baseline. Our FAQ covers how to find this for every major brand.
Native Display vs DisplayLink: The Hidden Factor
This is the decision most buyers don’t know they’re making. When a docking station outputs video to your monitors, it uses one of two fundamentally different methods: native (the dock passes your laptop’s GPU signal directly to the monitor) or DisplayLink (the dock compresses video over USB and a software driver renders it). The difference is invisible in marketing materials but profoundly affects your daily experience.
Native output through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt uses your laptop’s actual graphics hardware. There is zero added latency, full DRM support for streaming services, no CPU overhead, and no driver to install. DisplayLink, by contrast, adds 5–15ms of latency (noticeable in video calls and cursor movement), blocks DRM content on connected monitors (Netflix, Disney+ show black screens), consumes 3–8% of your CPU constantly, and requires a driver that Apple’s macOS security updates occasionally break.
DisplayLink exists for one reason: Apple Silicon base chips (M1, M2, M3) can only drive one external display natively. If you need two or more monitors on a base MacBook Air or 13” MacBook Pro, DisplayLink is your only option. For everyone else — Windows users, Mac Pro/Max chip users, Intel/AMD laptops — native is always the better choice.
Native (Alt Mode / Thunderbolt)
DisplayLink (USB compression)
The bottom line: if your laptop supports native multi-display output, always choose a native dock. DisplayLink is a workaround, not an upgrade. See our glossary for detailed definitions.
COMMAND CENTERCOMMAND CENTER
Six tools that decode the confusion manufacturers create. Port protocols, power budgets, display configurations, compatibility, desk planning, and future-proofing. Full buying guide →
Port Protocol DecoderWhat does your connection type actually support? Glossary
Power Delivery CalculatorCan this dock keep your laptop charged?
Display Configuration PlannerCan your dock push enough pixels?
Laptop-to-Dock CompatibilityWill this dock work with YOUR laptop?
Desk Setup ArchitectWhat ports do you actually need?
Select everything you need to connect:



