InnoView 23.8″ Portable Monitor Review
February 15, 2025
The InnoView INVPM502 puts a 2560x1440 IPS panel on 18.5 inches at 120Hz with FreeSync, full-size HDMI, two USB-C ports and a stand in the box. This review covers the 2K sharpness, the console case, mounting, the power note, what the listing leaves out, and who it suits.
The InnoView INVPM502 is an 18.5-inch portable monitor with a 2560×1440 IPS panel that runs at 120Hz with FreeSync, covers 100% sRGB, lists HDR, and has a matte finish. It carries two USB-C ports and a full-size HDMI port, plus a DP port that InnoView’s bullets mention and Amazon’s port fields do not. InnoView puts the weight at 3.2 lb; Amazon’s field says 5.72 lb, which will be the boxed figure. It measures 16.7 by 10.2 inches and 0.57 inches thick, ships with an adjustable stand, takes a 75×75 VESA mount, and comes with a 30-day return window and an 18-month repair warranty. It replaces the 23.8-inch 1080P 144Hz InnoView this page used to cover, which Amazon now lists as unavailable, and the trade is a clear one: five inches less diagonal and 24Hz less refresh in exchange for 2K sharpness, 159 pixels per inch against 93, and less than half the weight.
Below, we cover the display, the gaming case, mounting, connectivity, and what the listing leaves out, based on InnoView’s bullets and Amazon’s specification fields.
Key Specifications at a Glance
| Specification |
Detail |
| Screen Size |
18.5 inches |
| Resolution |
2560 x 1440 (QHD, 2K), about 159 ppi |
| Panel Type |
IPS |
| Refresh Rate |
120Hz |
| Response Time |
3ms (Amazon’s field) |
| Color Gamut |
100% sRGB |
| HDR |
Listed |
| Adaptive Sync |
FreeSync |
| Brightness |
Not stated |
| Contrast Ratio |
Not stated |
| Viewing Angle |
Not stated |
| Aspect Ratio |
16:9 |
| Screen Finish |
Matte |
| Ports |
2x USB-C, 1x full-size HDMI; DP port per InnoView’s bullet, not in Amazon’s port count |
| Speakers |
Not listed; InnoView’s power note refers to low volume, which implies them |
| Stand |
Included, adjustable angle |
| VESA Mount |
75 x 75 mm |
| Thickness |
0.57 inches |
| Weight |
3.2 lb per InnoView; 5.72 lb in Amazon’s field (boxed) |
| Dimensions |
16.7 x 10.2 x 0.57 inches |
| Power |
From the host over USB-C; separate 30W supply advised if the picture flickers; adapter in the box not stated |
| Model |
INVPM502 |
| Warranty |
30-day return or exchange, 18-month repair excluding external damage |
18.5 Inches: Bigger Than a Laptop, Still a Carry
An 18.5-inch panel is the largest size that still behaves like a portable monitor. It is three inches more diagonal than the 15.6-inch screens most people start with, which is enough for two documents side by side or a game that fills your view at desk distance, and it stays under the size where a monitor needs its own bag. InnoView’s own figure is 3.2 lb, about the weight of a thin 15-inch laptop, and the 0.57-inch body is thin enough to ride in a laptop sleeve. Amazon’s 5.72 lb is the shipping weight with the stand and box; do not read it as the carry weight.

That still makes it a monitor you pack on purpose rather than one you forget is in the bag. If the second screen has to travel every day, the Newsoul 15.6″ at 1.4 lb is the lighter answer, and if the screen will mostly live on one desk, InnoView’s own 23.8-inch 2K 100Hz gives the same resolution on a bigger panel. InnoView also sells an 18.5-inch 1080P version, reviewed here, which is the one to compare against if 2K is more than you need.
Display Performance
2K at 18.5 Inches
2560×1440 on 18.5 inches works out to about 159 pixels per inch, sharper than a 15.6-inch 1080P panel at 141 and far sharper than the 93 ppi of the 23.8-inch 1080P screen this page used to cover. Text is crisp at arm’s length and fine lines in spreadsheets and design tools hold their shape. The flip side is that at 100 percent scaling the interface is small; on Windows expect to run 125 percent scaling, and macOS will pick a scaled mode on its own. Either way you keep more working room than 1080P gives at any scaling.
Colour, HDR and the Missing Numbers
InnoView quotes 100% sRGB, which is full coverage of the colour space the web and office software use, and lists HDR. What it does not quote is brightness, contrast or viewing angle. Amazon’s fields are silent on all three as well, which is unusual for InnoView, whose other listings give at least a contrast figure. Without a brightness number the HDR claim cannot be weighed, since HDR lives on peak brightness, so treat HDR here as a supported signal rather than a promise about the picture. The panel is IPS in both InnoView’s text and Amazon’s fields, so wide viewing angles are a fair expectation even though no figure is given. The finish is matte, which suits a screen this size in a room with windows.
The older 23.8-inch model listed DC Eye Care; this listing mentions no eye-care feature, no low-blue-light mode and no flicker-free claim, so none is assumed here.
Gaming Performance
120Hz, FreeSync and 3ms
120Hz with FreeSync is the sensible gaming target for a 2K panel this size. 1440p at 120 frames per second is within reach of a mid-range gaming laptop in most titles and matches the ceiling of the current consoles, since both the PS5 and the Xbox Series X output 1440p at 120Hz over HDMI. FreeSync keeps the panel in step with the source’s frame rate so the picture does not tear when frames dip below 120. The 3ms response time comes from Amazon’s field rather than InnoView’s bullets; it is a normal figure for an IPS panel of this class.
Two of InnoView’s own notes belong here. First, the Switch 2 works over HDMI only; InnoView says its USB-C output is not supported, so plan on the HDMI cable for that console. Second, if the picture flickers or the brightness and volume drop, the source is not supplying enough power, and InnoView says to power the monitor separately with a supply of 30W or more. A 2K 120Hz panel at 18.5 inches will draw more than many laptop USB-C ports and every console can give, so for gaming assume a separate supply. The listing does not say whether a power adapter is in the box; the older 23.8-inch model included a 30W one, and this listing gives no box contents at all.
Design and Mounting
InnoView describes three ways to mount it: the included stand, which adjusts to the angle you want and needs nothing bought separately; a 75×75 VESA pattern for a monitor arm or wall bracket; and hanging it on a wall by the same pattern. The stand is the everyday option, and a 75×75 arm is the tidy one if the monitor lives on a desk, since it lifts an 18.5-inch screen to eye level without taking the desk space. No tilt range is quoted for the stand and no portrait mode is mentioned. The matte finish keeps reflections down across a panel this wide. For desk-height and arm advice, see our ergonomic setup guide.
Connectivity
| Port |
Count |
Function |
| USB-C |
2 |
Video and power from a full-function or Thunderbolt 3/4 port; power input |
| HDMI (full size) |
1 |
Video input; the route for consoles |
| DP |
1 per InnoView’s bullet |
Video input; not in Amazon’s port fields, connector size not stated |
The HDMI port is a standard full-size socket, which matters: most portable monitors use mini HDMI and make you carry an odd cable, whereas this one takes the cable that came with the console or the desktop. A single USB-C to USB-C cable carries picture and power from a laptop whose port supports video, and no driver is needed on any system. The DP port appears in InnoView’s title and bullets but not in Amazon’s port count, which lists one HDMI and three USB ports; if you plan to use DisplayPort, confirm the connector with InnoView first. Amazon’s count of three USB ports against InnoView’s two USB-C suggests the third is a power-only socket, but the listing does not say. For what a USB-C port has to support, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.
Device Compatibility
| Device |
Connection |
Compatible |
| Windows Laptop/Desktop |
USB-C, HDMI or DP |
Yes |
| MacBook / Mac |
USB-C |
Yes |
| Surface |
USB-C |
Yes |
| Smartphone with USB-C video |
USB-C |
Yes |
| PS5 |
HDMI, up to 1440p 120Hz |
Yes |
| Xbox Series X/S |
HDMI, up to 1440p 120Hz |
Yes |
| Nintendo Switch 2 |
HDMI only, per InnoView |
Yes |
| Nintendo Switch |
HDMI through the dock |
Yes |
Potential Drawbacks to Consider
| Consideration |
Detail |
| No brightness, contrast or viewing angle |
None of the three appears in InnoView’s bullets or Amazon’s fields. HDR cannot be judged without a brightness figure. |
| Power |
InnoView says the picture flickers and brightness and volume drop when the source cannot supply enough; a 30W or larger supply is advised. Whether an adapter is included is not stated. |
| DP port |
Claimed in the title and bullets, absent from Amazon’s port fields, connector size not given. |
| Box contents |
Not listed anywhere. Cables and adapter are unknowns. |
| Weight figures |
3.2 lb per InnoView, 5.72 lb per Amazon; the second is the boxed weight. |
| Four options on one listing |
Amazon’s picker shows four entries all labelled 18.5 at four different prices, and the 802 reviews are shared across them. Confirm INVPM502 before buying. |
| No eye-care feature listed |
No low blue light or flicker-free claim, unlike the 23.8-inch model. |
| Switch 2 over HDMI only |
InnoView’s own note; USB-C from that console is not supported. |
Who This Monitor Is Best For
Laptop users who want 2K sharpness on a screen bigger than the laptop’s: 2560×1440 at 159 ppi is the resolution most 15-inch laptops ship with, so the second screen matches the first for sharpness while giving three more inches of it. One USB-C cable from a full-function port is the whole setup, with no driver.
Console gamers who want 1440p at 120Hz without a TV: full-size HDMI, 120Hz and FreeSync line up with what the PS5 and Xbox Series X output. An 18.5-inch screen at desk distance fills the view the way a much larger TV does across a room, and it packs away when the desk is needed for work.
People who move between a home desk and another one: the stand is in the box, a 75×75 arm is cheap, and 3.2 lb is manageable in a laptop bag a couple of times a week. For a comparison with InnoView’s faster 16-inch panels, see our review of the InnoView 2K 180Hz.
Who Should Look Elsewhere
Anyone who needs to know how bright the screen is: outdoor use, a sunny desk or colour-critical work all depend on a brightness figure this listing does not give.
Daily commuters: 3.2 lb and 16.7 inches wide is a planned carry, not an everyday one. A 15.6-inch panel under 2 lb suits a daily bag better.
Buyers who want everything in the box spelled out: InnoView lists neither cables nor an adapter. If you need certainty about what arrives, ask InnoView before ordering or pick a listing that states it. Our comparison pages cover 2K portables that do.
Pros and Cons
| Pros |
Cons |
| 2560×1440 IPS at 159 ppi on 18.5 inches |
No brightness, contrast or viewing angle stated |
| 120Hz with FreeSync and a 3ms response |
Needs a separate 30W supply for full brightness; adapter not confirmed in the box |
| 100% sRGB, HDR listed, matte finish |
DP port claimed but not in Amazon’s port fields |
| Full-size HDMI plus two USB-C, no driver |
Box contents not listed |
| Stand included, 75×75 VESA, wall option |
No eye-care or portrait mode mentioned |
| 3.2 lb and 0.57 inches for an 18.5-inch panel |
Four 18.5-inch options on one listing with shared reviews |
| 30-day return and 18-month repair warranty |
Switch 2 works over HDMI only |
Final Verdict
The INVPM502 is the InnoView to buy if the point of a portable monitor is sharpness. 2560×1440 on 18.5 inches gives laptop-grade pixel density on a screen three inches bigger than the laptop, 120Hz with FreeSync covers gaming on both current consoles and any decent laptop GPU, and the full-size HDMI port means no special cables. The stand in the box and the 75×75 VESA pattern cover the desk, and 3.2 lb keeps it in a laptop bag.
What the listing does not say is the reason to pause. No brightness figure, no contrast, no viewing angle, no box contents and an unconfirmed DP port are a lot of blanks for a 2026 listing, and the power note means budgeting for a 30W supply if one is not included. If you can live with those unknowns, or get InnoView to answer them, this is the better-balanced of the two 18.5-inch InnoViews and the one that makes the old 23.8-inch 1080P look soft.
For lighter, brighter or bigger alternatives, our buying guide covers the full range of portable monitor options.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 2K worth it on an 18.5-inch screen?
Yes for text and detail work. 2560×1440 at this size is about 159 pixels per inch, the density of a sharp laptop screen, against 118 ppi for the 1080P version of the same monitor. You will run scaling at 125 percent on Windows, and you still keep more working room than 1080P gives.
Does the PS5 or Xbox run at 1440p 120Hz on it?
Both consoles can output 1440p at 120Hz over HDMI, and the monitor’s full-size HDMI port, 120Hz panel and FreeSync support match that. Enable 1440p output in the console’s display settings; it is off by default on the PS5.
Do I need a power adapter?
For a laptop over USB-C, only if the picture flickers or dims, which InnoView says happens when the port cannot supply enough. For consoles and HDMI sources, yes, since HDMI carries no power. InnoView advises 30W or more. The listing does not say whether an adapter is included.
Does it work with the Switch 2?
Over HDMI, yes. InnoView states that the Switch 2’s USB-C output is not supported, so use the dock’s HDMI output rather than a USB-C cable.
Does it have speakers?
The listing never says so directly, but InnoView’s power note warns that volume drops when the supply is weak, which only makes sense if speakers are built in. Treat them as basic until confirmed.
What does the warranty cover?
InnoView offers a 30-day return or exchange and 18 months of repair, excluding external damage. Amazon’s field lists 18 months.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.