WAVLINK Triple 4K@60Hz DisplayLink Docking Station Review
WAVLINK DisplayLink Docking Station Review: Evaluate quad 4K @ 60Hz display output, 100W host power delivery, 19-port array, and DisplayLink drivers.
Three 4K monitors at 60Hz on an M-series Mac through DisplayLink, with 100W laptop charging and six USB ports all running at 10 Gbps. The WAVLINK UG64PD25 is a DisplayLink dock that breaks Apple’s single-display limitation on base M-series MacBooks and provides triple extended displays on Windows. It has the broadest specific-model compatibility list of any dock on this site, naming individual Dell, HP, Lenovo, Microsoft, Huawei, Google, and Razer models by number.
An important correction from earlier versions of this review: the Amazon product title references “4 Monitors” and “4X HDMI, 4X DP,” but the Amazon bullets say “triple monitor support” and the Amazon Total HDMI Ports field says 3. The Amazon Number of Ports field says 13, not 19. The Ethernet bullet says “1Gbps,” not 2.5Gbps. We have corrected this review to match the Amazon data. If the product has been updated since the title was written, the current bullets and spec fields reflect the shipping product.

WAVLINK USB C Docking Station 4K@60Hz 3 Monitor for Mac(M1-M5,Neo),Windows | 100W PD Charging for Laptop with Thunderbolt 5/4/3, USB C - Displaylink Triple Monitor, 3 HDMI, 2 DP, 6 USB Ports, LAN, Audio
Key Specifications (from Amazon bullets and spec fields)
| Specification | Detail |
|---|---|
| Total Ports | 13 (Amazon field) |
| HDMI | 3 (Amazon field). Title says 4. |
| DisplayPort | Listed in title as 4. Not confirmed separately in Amazon fields. |
| USB Gen 2 (10 Gbps) | 6 |
| USB-C Host (PD) | 1 (100W max to laptop) |
| Ethernet | 1 Gbps (per bullet). Title says 2.5G. |
| Audio | 1 |
| SD/TF 4.0 Card Reader | Yes |
| Display Technology | DisplayLink (driver required) |
| Max Displays | Triple 4K@60Hz (per bullet) |
| Power Adapter | 160W included |
| Host Charging | 100W max |
| HDMI Alt Mode Port | Requires laptop USB-C with video output |
| Compatible OS | Windows 7/8/8.1/10/11, macOS 10.14+, Chrome OS, Ubuntu 20.04/22.04, Android, Harmony OS |
| NOT Compatible | Unix, Linux (contradicts Ubuntu support), iPad OS |
| Weight | 18 oz / 1.125 lbs |
| Model | UG64PD25 |
| Manufacturer | WAVLINK |
| Warranty | Not specified in Amazon data |
Triple 4K@60Hz Through DisplayLink
The dock uses DisplayLink technology to drive three 4K@60Hz displays from a single USB-C connection. On base M-series MacBooks (M1/M2/M3/M4) that Apple limits to one external display, the WAVLINK provides triple extended monitors through DisplayLink software rendering. On Windows, triple displays work natively after DisplayLink driver installation.
DisplayLink driver must be downloaded and installed before the dock functions for display output. On macOS, the Screen Recording permission is required. The standard DisplayLink trade-offs apply: no HDCP (Netflix and streaming services blocked on external monitors), CPU overhead from software rendering, and driver dependency. For productivity work (documents, code, design, video calls), DisplayLink provides a functional triple-monitor experience. For streaming content, use the Mac’s built-in display.
The Amazon bullet also mentions an “HDMI (Alt Mode) port” that requires the laptop’s USB-C port to support video output. This suggests one of the HDMI ports may use native DP Alt Mode rather than DisplayLink. Contact WAVLINK to clarify which ports use DisplayLink and which use native video output. For USB-C display requirements, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.
Six USB Ports at 10 Gbps
All six USB ports run at 10 Gbps (USB 3.2 Gen 2). That matches the CalDigit TS4’s USB speed and exceeds the 5 Gbps on most competing docks. For users who connect multiple external SSDs, high-speed peripherals, or USB-C accessories, every port delivers maximum throughput without bandwidth compromises.
100W Host Charging from 160W Adapter
The included 160W power adapter feeds 100W to the laptop through the USB-C host connection. The remaining 60W powers the dock’s DisplayLink chip, video outputs, USB ports, Ethernet, and card readers. 100W charges MacBook Air (30-45W), MacBook Pro 14″ (70-96W), and most Windows ultrabooks (45-65W) at full speed during use. MacBook Pro 16″ (140W) charges below full speed.
Title vs Bullets: Data Conflicts
The Amazon product title says “4 Monitors,” “4X HDMI, 4X DP,” and “2.5G Ethernet.” The Amazon bullets say “triple monitors,” the HDMI field says 3, the ports field says 13, and the Ethernet bullet says “1Gbps.” These are significant discrepancies. The title may reflect an earlier or different product configuration. The bullets and spec fields are more likely to reflect the current shipping product.
Additionally, the compatibility section says “Unsupported with Unix systems, Linux” but separately lists Ubuntu 20.04 and 22.04 as supported. Ubuntu is a Linux distribution. This is an internal contradiction in the Amazon listing.
Broadest Compatibility List on This Site
The compatible devices field names more specific laptop models than any other dock on this site: Dell XPS 13/15, Latitude 7280/5310, Precision 7730/7750. HP Spectre x360, EliteBook 840 G5/745 G6/830 G6, ZBook 15u G3/17 G4. Lenovo Yoga 720/730/900/910/920/930/940, ThinkPad E590/P72/T470/X1 Carbon. Microsoft Surface Book 2, Surface Go, Surface Laptop 3, Surface Pro 7. Google Slate, Chromebook C340, Pixelbook Go. Razer Blade 2017. Apple M1-M4 and Intel Macs with macOS 10.14+.
If your laptop model appears on this list, WAVLINK has specifically tested compatibility. That level of model-by-model verification is uncommon and reduces the compatibility guesswork that generic “works with USB-C laptops” claims create.
Drawbacks
| Consideration | Detail |
|---|---|
| Title vs Bullet Conflicts | Title says 4 monitors/2.5GbE. Bullets say triple/1Gbps. |
| DisplayLink Driver Required | Must install before displays function. |
| No HDCP | Streaming services blocked on external monitors. |
| Linux Contradiction | Says “Linux unsupported” but lists Ubuntu 20.04/22.04. |
| iPad OS Not Supported | Excluded. |
| Warranty Not Specified | Amazon data does not list warranty duration. |
| No Dimensions Listed | Only weight (18 oz) provided. |
Who This Dock Is For
Mac and Windows users who need triple 4K@60Hz displays with 10 Gbps USB, 100W charging, and the widest model-by-model compatibility list available: The WAVLINK provides triple DisplayLink monitors on base M-series Macs and Windows. Six USB ports at 10 Gbps. 100W charging from a 160W adapter. SD/TF 4.0 card readers. The compatibility list names dozens of specific Dell, HP, Lenovo, Microsoft, Google, and Razer models. If your laptop is on the list, WAVLINK has verified it works. For a DisplayLink dock from another brand, see the TobenONE DisplayLink Docking Station review.
Buyers who need quad monitors, 2.5 GbE, or iPad OS support: The current Amazon bullets describe triple monitors and 1 Gbps Ethernet. iPad OS is excluded. For quad-display docks, see the CalDigit TS4 or Kensington SD5000T5 on our docking stations hub page.
Final Verdict
The WAVLINK UG64PD25 provides triple 4K@60Hz through DisplayLink with the broadest model-specific compatibility list of any dock on this site. Six 10 Gbps USB ports, 100W charging, SD/TF 4.0 readers, and audio cover the full desk setup. The 160W included adapter powers everything.
The listing has significant title-vs-bullet conflicts (monitors, Ethernet, port count) and an internal contradiction on Linux support. The product itself appears well-reviewed and broadly compatible. For buyers who can look past the listing inconsistencies and verify the current specs match their needs, the WAVLINK offers triple DisplayLink displays with faster USB and broader compatibility than most competitors. For buyers who need listing accuracy before purchasing, the data conflicts warrant contacting WAVLINK directly.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is this quad or triple monitor?
The Amazon title says “4 Monitors.” The Amazon bullets say “triple monitor support.” The current bullets are more likely to reflect the shipping product. Contact WAVLINK to confirm the current display count.
Is the Ethernet 1 Gbps or 2.5 Gbps?
The title says 2.5G. The bullet says 1Gbps. These contradict. The bullet is more likely to be accurate for the current shipping product.
Does it work with Linux?
The listing says “Unsupported with Unix systems, Linux” but separately lists Ubuntu 20.04 and 22.04 as supported. Ubuntu is Linux. DisplayLink does provide Ubuntu drivers. The dock likely works on Ubuntu but may not work on other Linux distributions.
Will my MacBook Air M2 get triple monitors?
Yes, through DisplayLink. Driver installation required. macOS Screen Recording permission required. HDCP content (Netflix, Disney+) blocked on external monitors. Productivity work displays normally.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
I evaluate docking stations the way they actually get used — against real bandwidth budgets, power-delivery ceilings, and the OS handshakes that quietly cap what a port can do — not spec-sheet promises. Every constraint that can break a multi-display setup is disclosed before any affiliate link.
Docking Station Intelligence
The standards are confusing by design. These three panels decode what manufacturers won’t explain clearly. Applicable to every docking station.
The USB-C Confusion Matrix
The USB-C connector is the single greatest source of buyer confusion in docking stations. The physical plug looks identical whether it carries USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps or Thunderbolt 5 at 120 Gbps — a 250x difference in capability hidden behind the same shape. Manufacturers exploit this by labeling everything "USB-C compatible" without specifying which protocol runs through it. Two docks can look identical on the outside and behave completely differently once you plug them in.
The hierarchy matters because it determines everything: how many monitors your dock can drive, how fast files transfer, whether your laptop charges while docked, and whether you need third-party drivers. Here is the real capability ladder, from slowest to fastest:
The practical takeaway: if your laptop has Thunderbolt 4, buy a Thunderbolt dock. If it only has generic USB-C, verify whether it supports DisplayPort Alt Mode before buying anything with multi-monitor claims. Our buying guide walks through verification steps for every major laptop brand.
Power Delivery: What the Watts Mean
Power Delivery (PD) determines whether your docking station can charge your laptop while you work, or whether you need a separate charger cluttering your desk. The math is simple but rarely explained: your laptop draws a specific wattage under load, and the dock must match or exceed it. If the dock delivers less than your laptop needs, the battery slowly drains even while plugged in — defeating the purpose of a docking station entirely.
Check the laptop manufacturer’s recommended power supply and the dock’s rated host power. Shared charging budgets vary by dock: powering peripherals does not reduce host charging on every model. USB-C charging also depends on the laptop, cable and negotiated power profile. A lower-power supply may charge slowly or allow battery drain under load; a fixed 15–20W margin is not a universal requirement.
Check your laptop’s original charger wattage — that’s your baseline. Our FAQ covers how to find this for every major brand.
Native Display vs DisplayLink: The Hidden Factor
This is the decision most buyers don’t know they’re making. When a docking station outputs video to your monitors, it uses one of two fundamentally different methods: native (the dock passes your laptop’s GPU signal directly to the monitor) or DisplayLink (the dock compresses video over USB and a software driver renders it). The difference is invisible in marketing materials but profoundly affects your daily experience.
Native output through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt uses the host graphics system. DisplayLink transports encoded display data over USB using compatible software. Its responsiveness and CPU/GPU load vary with the computer, software, resolution and workload; fixed latency, CPU and battery percentages are not universal specifications. Protected-video playback also depends on the display path, operating system and service. Check DisplayLink system requirements for your configuration.
DisplayLink can add displays through compatible USB connections, including USB-A, and can serve systems with limited native display outputs. Native limits depend on the exact computer and operating mode. For example, M3 MacBook Air and MacBook Pro support two external displays with the lid closed under Apple’s stated conditions. Choose the display method against your computer, software permissions and workload.
Native (Alt Mode / Thunderbolt)
DisplayLink (USB compression)
Choose a native or DisplayLink dock by checking the exact host, dock, operating system and monitor combination. Native output is often preferable for latency-sensitive workloads; DisplayLink can be useful for additional productivity displays and compatible USB-A hosts. Neither connector shape nor a generic bandwidth number proves compatibility.
COMMAND CENTERCOMMAND CENTER
Six tools that decode the confusion manufacturers create. Port protocols, power budgets, display configurations, compatibility, desk planning, and future-proofing. Full buying guide →
Port Protocol DecoderWhat does your connection type actually support? Glossary
Power Delivery CalculatorCan this dock keep your laptop charged?
Display Configuration PlannerCan your dock push enough pixels?
Laptop-to-Dock CompatibilityWill this dock work with YOUR laptop?
Desk Setup ArchitectWhat ports do you actually need?
Select everything you need to connect:


