Home » Docking Stations » Acer Docking Station Review
Docking Station Review
sections
Port standards decoded Compatibility guidance
Affiliate links present. We earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost. Full disclosure

Acer Docking Station Review

StatusSource-based review
Re-verifyBefore purchase
How we review docking stations: Research-based review. Built from manufacturer documentation, standards, dated listings and verified owner reports, then checked for port protocols, power delivery limits, display compatibility and OS constraints. Constraints disclosed before any affiliate link.

Acer 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Review: Evaluate dual 4K DisplayPort/HDMI outputs, 100W Power Delivery, 10Gbps USB data transfer speeds, and DisplayPort MST display limits for Windows laptops.

An Acer-branded dock with its own 110W power adapter, three video outputs, five USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, SD and TF card readers, audio, and a security slot. The Acer 13-in-1 is a desk dock from a major OEM, not a generic hub from a brand that appeared last year. It supports triple display on Windows through MST across two HDMI and one DisplayPort 1.4, and on laptops whose GPU supports Display Stream Compression it can drive triple 4K at 30Hz. The adapter charges the host laptop over the USB-C cable: the listing title says 100W, the fine print says 85W PD. Two limitations that matter: the extra rear USB-C port is data only, and macOS gets mirroring (SST) across the monitors, not an extended desktop.

Thirteen functions. Two HDMI. One DisplayPort 1.4. One USB-C host port with power delivery. One USB-C data port (5 Gbps). One rear USB-C, data only. Three USB-A (5 Gbps). Gigabit Ethernet. 3.5mm audio. SD and MicroSD readers that work at the same time. 110W adapter and a USB-C cable in the box. Aluminum body. Security slot. 7.89 x 3.25 x 0.94 inches, 2.31 lbs. One-year warranty.

Key Specifications

Specification Detail
Total Ports 13 functions
HDMI 2 (version not stated)
DisplayPort 1.4 1
USB-C Host 1 (video, data, power delivery to the laptop)
USB-C Data 1 (5 Gbps)
USB-C Rear 1 (data only; no video, no monitor power, no Thunderbolt)
USB-A 3 (5 Gbps)
Gigabit Ethernet 1 (1000 Mbps)
3.5mm Audio 1
Card Readers SD + MicroSD, simultaneous read and write
Power Adapter 110W included
Power to Laptop 100W per the listing title; 85W PD per the listing note
Triple Display (Windows) 2x HDMI + 1x DP via MST; 4K@30Hz on all three with a DSC-capable laptop
Single / Dual Display Resolutions not stated in the listing
macOS Display Mirror (SST) only; no extended desktop across monitors
Security Slot Yes (cable lock not included)
Power Button Not stated in the listing
Body Aluminum
Dimensions 7.89″ x 3.25″ x 0.94″
Weight 2.31 lbs
In the Box Dock, 110W adapter, USB-C cable, manual, quick guide
Manufacturer Acer
Warranty 1 year
Acer 13-in-1 Docking Station Key Specifications

Three Video Outputs, Three Monitors

Two HDMI and one DisplayPort 1.4, each with its own output. No shared ports: all three can run at once on a Windows laptop through MST. That is a cleaner arrangement than docks that offer four connectors for three streams. The catch is bandwidth. Triple 4K at 30Hz needs a laptop whose GPU supports Display Stream Compression; without DSC, expect lower resolutions on the third screen. Acer does not publish the single- and dual-monitor limits, so for two monitors at 4K@60Hz check your laptop’s USB-C output specification before buying.

macOS: Mirror Only

Acer states it directly: macOS supports SST only. Connect three monitors to a Mac through this dock and all three show the same image. The extended desktop across the dock’s outputs is a Windows feature. A Mac user gets one extended display at most. If you work on a MacBook and want more than one independent external screen, this is not the dock for it.

Five USB Ports, One of Them Data-Only

One USB-C and three USB-A at 5 Gbps for storage, webcams, receivers, and keyboards. A second USB-C on the rear, which Acer flags in bold: data transfer only. It will not drive a monitor, will not power one, and does not take Thunderbolt devices. Plug a drive into it; do not plan a display around it. None of the ports on this dock reach 10 Gbps, so a fast external SSD runs at 5 Gbps.

Acer 13-in-1 Docking Station USB Ports

110W Adapter: How Much Reaches the Laptop

The dock ships with its own 110W adapter and a USB-C cable, so the laptop charger stays in the bag. What the laptop receives is the one number the listing gives twice with two answers: “100W Laptop Charging” in the title, “85W PD power is only for charging your host laptop” in the notes. Plan on 85W. That covers ultrabooks and most 14-inch workstation laptops at full speed; a 96W or 140W laptop charges more slowly under load. Acer also states the adapter cannot power external monitors or high-draw peripherals; monitors keep their own power cords.

Ethernet, Audio, Cards, and a Lock

Gigabit Ethernet for a wired connection. A 3.5mm jack for a headset. SD and MicroSD slots that read and write at the same time, which is useful for camera cards and a phone card together. A security slot takes a standard cable lock so the dock and the laptop tethered to it stay on the desk. The lock itself is not included.

Drawbacks

Consideration Detail
macOS: Mirror Only No extended desktop across the dock’s monitors on a Mac.
Charging Figure Unclear Title says 100W, notes say 85W. Plan on 85W.
Rear USB-C: Data Only No video, no monitor power, no Thunderbolt.
5 Gbps Ports No 10 Gbps USB. Fast SSDs run below their speed.
Triple 4K Needs DSC 4K@30Hz on three screens only with a DSC-capable GPU. Single and dual limits not stated.
Power Button Not stated in the listing.
1-Year Warranty Shorter than some competitors offering 2 to 3 years.
Acer 13-in-1 Docking Station Drawbacks

Who This Dock Is For

Windows users who want an Acer-branded desk dock with its own 110W adapter, three independent monitor outputs, five USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, card readers, audio, and a security slot: The Acer 13-in-1 provides OEM-grade hardware with a dedicated power supply and a clean three-output display layout. 85W to the laptop from one adapter. Triple display through MST, triple 4K with a DSC-capable laptop. No driver required. No DisplayLink limitations. Card readers and the lock slot suit an office desk. For the Acer 9-in-1 travel hub, see the Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Hub review.

Mac users who need extended multi-monitor, buyers who need 10 Gbps ports, or laptops that draw more than 85W: macOS mirrors only. All USB ports are 5 Gbps. High-power laptops charge below full speed. For those needs, see the docking stations hub page.

Final Verdict

The Acer 13-in-1 is a desk dock from a major OEM with its own 110W power adapter, three independent video outputs, five USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, card readers, audio, and a security slot in an aluminum body. Acer built this for Windows office desks. Triple display through MST, and triple 4K at 30Hz where the laptop’s GPU supports DSC, serves productivity workloads. The 85W to the laptop from one adapter keeps the laptop charger at home. The card readers are a practical addition the previous model lacked. The compromises are a mirror-only Mac experience, 5 Gbps ports throughout, and a listing that names two different charging figures. For the buyer who wants “Acer” on the dock, a power adapter in the box, and three monitors on a Windows laptop, the 13-in-1 provides that at a lower price than the 14-in-1 it replaces.

Buy Acer 13-in-1 dock with triple display 110W adapter and Gigabit Ethernet

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I run three monitors from this dock?
Yes, on Windows: two on HDMI and one on DisplayPort, all independent through MST. Triple 4K at 30Hz needs a laptop whose GPU supports Display Stream Compression. On macOS the three monitors mirror each other.

Does this include a power adapter?
Yes. A 110W adapter and a USB-C cable are in the box. The laptop receives up to 85W PD (the listing title says 100W). The adapter does not power monitors or high-draw peripherals.

Can I output video through the rear USB-C port?
No. Acer states it is data only: no video, no monitor power, no Thunderbolt devices. Video output uses the two HDMI ports and the DisplayPort.

Does it work with a MacBook?
Acer 13-in-1 dock with triple display 110W adapter Gigabit Ethernet and card readers It connects and charges, and the USB, Ethernet, audio and card readers work. Displays mirror: macOS supports SST only through this dock, so you get one extended display at most, not three independent ones.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Editorial accountability
Operator on record · Docking & connectivity desk
Boniface Musembi
Boniface Musembi

I evaluate docking stations the way they actually get used — against real bandwidth budgets, power-delivery ceilings, and the OS handshakes that quietly cap what a port can do — not spec-sheet promises. Every constraint that can break a multi-display setup is disclosed before any affiliate link.

Review focus
Docking stations, port protocols & multi-display connectivity
Standards referenced
USB-IF, VESA, Intel Thunderbolt & HDMI Forum specifications
Verification
Check current specifications
Before You Buy Any Docking Station
Verify these before purchasing. Applies to every dock, not just this one.
Identified your laptop’s exact port type (USB-C vs TB 3/4/5)?
Confirmed your laptop’s power delivery requirement?
Counted how many external monitors you need?
Verified your OS supports the dock’s display method?
Checked the exact laptop model and OS limitations?
Want deeper analysis?
This review covers the essentials. Our resources go further:
Share
Copied!

Docking Station Intelligence

The standards are confusing by design. These three panels decode what manufacturers won’t explain clearly. Applicable to every docking station.

The USB-C Confusion Matrix

The USB-C connector is the single greatest source of buyer confusion in docking stations. The physical plug looks identical whether it carries USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps or Thunderbolt 5 at 120 Gbps — a 250x difference in capability hidden behind the same shape. Manufacturers exploit this by labeling everything "USB-C compatible" without specifying which protocol runs through it. Two docks can look identical on the outside and behave completely differently once you plug them in.

The hierarchy matters because it determines everything: how many monitors your dock can drive, how fast files transfer, whether your laptop charges while docked, and whether you need third-party drivers. Here is the real capability ladder, from slowest to fastest:

The practical takeaway: if your laptop has Thunderbolt 4, buy a Thunderbolt dock. If it only has generic USB-C, verify whether it supports DisplayPort Alt Mode before buying anything with multi-monitor claims. Our buying guide walks through verification steps for every major laptop brand.

Power Delivery: What the Watts Mean

Power Delivery (PD) determines whether your docking station can charge your laptop while you work, or whether you need a separate charger cluttering your desk. The math is simple but rarely explained: your laptop draws a specific wattage under load, and the dock must match or exceed it. If the dock delivers less than your laptop needs, the battery slowly drains even while plugged in — defeating the purpose of a docking station entirely.

Check the laptop manufacturer’s recommended power supply and the dock’s rated host power. Shared charging budgets vary by dock: powering peripherals does not reduce host charging on every model. USB-C charging also depends on the laptop, cable and negotiated power profile. A lower-power supply may charge slowly or allow battery drain under load; a fixed 15–20W margin is not a universal requirement.

Check your laptop’s original charger wattage — that’s your baseline. Our FAQ covers how to find this for every major brand.

Native Display vs DisplayLink: The Hidden Factor

This is the decision most buyers don’t know they’re making. When a docking station outputs video to your monitors, it uses one of two fundamentally different methods: native (the dock passes your laptop’s GPU signal directly to the monitor) or DisplayLink (the dock compresses video over USB and a software driver renders it). The difference is invisible in marketing materials but profoundly affects your daily experience.

Native output through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt uses the host graphics system. DisplayLink transports encoded display data over USB using compatible software. Its responsiveness and CPU/GPU load vary with the computer, software, resolution and workload; fixed latency, CPU and battery percentages are not universal specifications. Protected-video playback also depends on the display path, operating system and service. Check DisplayLink system requirements for your configuration.

DisplayLink can add displays through compatible USB connections, including USB-A, and can serve systems with limited native display outputs. Native limits depend on the exact computer and operating mode. For example, M3 MacBook Air and MacBook Pro support two external displays with the lid closed under Apple’s stated conditions. Choose the display method against your computer, software permissions and workload.

Native (Alt Mode / Thunderbolt)

LatencySystem dependent
DRM ContentCheck HDCP chain
CPU UsageWorkload dependent
Max ResolutionHost / dock specific
DriverOS / GPU support
Battery ImpactSystem dependent

DisplayLink (USB compression)

LatencyWorkload dependent
DRM ContentPlayback restrictions
CPU UsageWorkload dependent
Max ResolutionChipset / dock specific
DriverRequired
Battery ImpactSystem dependent

Choose a native or DisplayLink dock by checking the exact host, dock, operating system and monitor combination. Native output is often preferable for latency-sensitive workloads; DisplayLink can be useful for additional productivity displays and compatible USB-A hosts. Neither connector shape nor a generic bandwidth number proves compatibility.

◆ ScreenExtendersHub Intelligence ◆

COMMAND CENTERCOMMAND CENTER

Interactive decision tools for any docking station

Six tools that decode the confusion manufacturers create. Port protocols, power budgets, display configurations, compatibility, desk planning, and future-proofing. Full buying guide →

Port Protocol DecoderWhat does your connection type actually support? Glossary

1 Dock connection type

Power Delivery CalculatorCan this dock keep your laptop charged?

1 Your laptop needs
2 Dock’s max PD output

Display Configuration PlannerCan your dock push enough pixels?

1 How many monitors?
2 Resolution per monitor
3 Dock protocol

Laptop-to-Dock CompatibilityWill this dock work with YOUR laptop?

1 Laptop brand
2 Your port type

Desk Setup ArchitectWhat ports do you actually need?

Select everything you need to connect:

Standards Future-Proofing AdvisorWhich standard should you invest in?

1 When did you buy your laptop?
2 How long do you keep docks?
Connected Categories
Using a dock with a laptop extender?
Docks and extenders share USB-C bandwidth and power budget.
Laptop extenders
Need a portable monitor for travel?
Docks are desk-bound. Portable monitors travel with you.
Portable monitors
Building a permanent multi-monitor desk?
Dock handles connectivity. Desktop extenders handle display layout.
Desktop extenders
Editorial Independence: ScreenExtendersHub participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. Recommendations are never influenced by commissions. Read our disclosure and methodology.
ScreenExtendersHub Docking Station Review
Scroll to Top