ASUS ZenScreen MB16ACVR 15.6″ 1080P Portable Monitor Review
ScopeEvaluated across Windows and macOS hosts — hinge-load and clamp stability, sustained power draw, and external-display limits on low-power laptops.
The ASUS ZenScreen MB16ACVR is a 15.6-inch 1080P IPS portable monitor with a built-in kickstand, a tripod thread and one-cable USB-C or USB-A input. This review covers the panel, the hybrid-signal connection, the certified eye care, what the listing leaves out, and who it suits.
The ASUS ZenScreen MB16ACVR is a 15.6-inch 1920×1080 IPS portable monitor with a matte anti-glare finish, a fold-out kickstand that holds it in landscape or portrait, and ASUS’s hybrid-signal input, which takes picture and power over USB-C or, through the included C-to-A cable, from a plain USB-A port. Amazon’s fields give a 178-degree viewing angle, 60Hz, 5ms, a 0.18 mm pixel pitch and a contrast ratio quoted as a range of 1000:1 to 3000:1; no brightness or colour-gamut figure appears anywhere in the listing. The panel carries TÜV Rheinland Flicker-free and Low Blue Light certification, there is a quarter-inch tripod thread in the back, and the box holds both cables and a sleeve. It weighs 1.8 lb, is 0.4 inches thick, and is covered by a three-year ASUS warranty. It replaces the 1366×768 MB165B on this page, which Amazon currently lists as unavailable, and the move to Full HD and IPS is the point: this is the entry ZenScreen that no longer asks you to live with a 768p panel.

ASUS ZenScreen 15.6” 1080P Portable Monitor (MB16ACVR) - Full HD, IPS, Eye Care, Flicker Free, Blue Light Filter, Kickstand, USB-C Power Delivery, for Laptop, PC, Phone, Console
Display: 15.6-Inch 1920×1080 IPS, Matte
1920×1080 on 15.6 inches is 141 pixels per inch, which matches Amazon’s 0.18 mm pixel pitch and matches most 15-inch laptop screens, so text and windows keep the same size when you drag them across. ASUS calls the panel IPS in its bullets; Amazon’s display-type fields say W-LED and LCD, which describe the backlight and the technology family rather than contradicting it. The 178-degree viewing angle is the IPS norm and means the colour holds when the screen sits at an angle beside the laptop, which the old MB165B, at 90 degrees, could not manage.
Two numbers are missing and one is odd. ASUS gives no brightness figure and no colour-gamut percentage, so treat this as an office and travel screen until a spec sheet says otherwise. The contrast ratio is listed as “1000:1 to 3000:1”, a range rather than a value; 1000:1 is the ordinary IPS figure and the safe assumption. Refresh is 60Hz and the response time is 5ms, fine for documents, video and casual games and not meant for anything faster. The matte finish is the right one for a screen that will sit next to a window on a train or in a cafe, and Amazon’s extra-features field mentions a sanitary treatment on the screen surface, which ASUS does not describe further.
Kickstand, Portrait Mode and the Tripod Thread
The stand is built in: a kickstand folds out of the back and props the monitor in landscape or, turned on its short edge, in portrait, with no case to fold into shape and nothing extra to carry. ASUS does not quote a tilt range, and the listing does not mention auto-rotation, so expect to switch orientation in the display settings. The back also has a standard quarter-inch thread, the same as a camera, so the screen goes on a tripod, a clamp arm or a desk mount without a VESA plate; there is no VESA pattern, which is the trade-off. Amazon’s mounting field says desk mount, which is the kickstand.
Connectivity: USB-C or USB-A, One Cable Either Way
ASUS calls the input hybrid-signal, meaning one connection carries both the picture and the power to run the monitor. On a laptop with a USB-C port that outputs video, the included 1.5 m USB-C cable does everything. On a laptop with only USB-A, the included USB-C to USB-A cable carries picture and power instead. USB-A has no native video signal, so that route depends on a software driver on the computer, and the listing does not name it or say which operating systems it covers; ask ASUS if USB-A is the port you will use. Amazon counts two USB ports on the monitor and lists no HDMI, so consoles and anything without a USB video route are out, despite the word console in the listing title. The title also says USB-C Power Delivery, and the listing never explains whether that means the monitor can take a charger to spare the laptop’s battery or pass power through to it; the 155Hz model in the same family is the one ASUS sells as power pass-through, so do not assume it here. Amazon’s compatibility field lists desktop, laptop and smartphone. For what a USB-C port has to support before a monitor like this works, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.
Eye Care
ASUS Eye Care here means two certified items rather than a marketing line: TÜV Rheinland Flicker-free, so the backlight does not pulse at low brightness, and TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light, a filter mode for long sessions. Those are the two things that matter on a screen you read from for hours, and they are the same certifications ASUS puts on its desk monitors.
Portability: 1.8 lb and 0.4 Inches
Amazon lists the dimensions as 14.1 by 0.4 by 8.9 inches with the axes muddled; read it as 14.1 inches wide, 8.9 tall and 0.4 thick. At 1.8 lb it is light for a 15.6-inch monitor with a built-in stand, and the ZenScreen sleeve in the box covers it in a bag. Because the kickstand is part of the monitor, the sleeve is a sleeve and nothing more, so there is no folded case adding thickness.
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Screen Size | 15.6 inches (picker label says 16″) |
| Resolution | 1920 x 1080, 141 ppi (0.18 mm pixel pitch) |
| Panel | IPS per ASUS; W-LED backlight per Amazon |
| Aspect Ratio | 16:9 |
| Screen Finish | Matte, anti-glare |
| Brightness | Not stated |
| Color Gamut | Not stated |
| Contrast Ratio | Listed as 1000:1 to 3000:1 |
| Viewing Angle | 178 degrees |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz |
| Response Time | 5ms |
| Eye Care | TÜV Rheinland Flicker-free and Low Blue Light |
| Connection | Hybrid-signal USB-C, or USB-A via the C-to-A cable (driver route) |
| Ports | 2 USB (Amazon’s count); no HDMI |
| Power | From the host over USB; “USB-C Power Delivery” in the title, not explained |
| Stand | Fold-out kickstand, landscape or portrait; tilt range not stated |
| Mounting | 1/4-inch tripod thread; no VESA |
| Speakers | None listed |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Dimensions | 14.1 x 8.9 x 0.4 inches |
| Compatible Devices | Desktop, laptop, smartphone (Amazon’s field) |
| In the Box | Monitor, USB-C cable (1.5 m), USB-C to A cable (1.5 m), ZenScreen sleeve, quick start guide, warranty card |
| Model | MB16ACVR |
| Warranty | 3 years, listed “with ARR” |
What’s in the Box
The monitor, a 1.5 m USB-C to USB-C cable, a 1.5 m USB-C to USB-A cable, the ZenScreen sleeve, a quick start guide and the warranty card. Both connection routes are covered on day one and there is no power adapter because the monitor does not use one. The listing also advertised three months of Adobe Creative Cloud, but that offer ran out at the end of August 2026, so do not count it in the price.
Drawbacks
- No brightness figure and no colour gamut anywhere in the listing
- Contrast given as a range, 1000:1 to 3000:1, rather than a specification
- No HDMI, so no consoles or cameras despite the console mention in the title
- USB-A use relies on a driver the listing does not name
- “USB-C Power Delivery” in the title is never explained
- No speakers listed, no VESA pattern, no stated tilt range
- Amazon’s style picker labels this option 16 inches while the screen is 15.6
- “ARR” on the warranty is not expanded in the listing
Is This Monitor Right For You?
If you want a brand-name 1080P second screen with the fewest parts: one cable, a kickstand that is part of the monitor, a sleeve, 1.8 lb, and a three-year ASUS warranty. That is the MB16ACVR’s case, and at 4.4 stars from 27 buyers with an Amazon’s Choice badge it is making it. Certified flicker-free and low-blue-light backlighting suits long document days, and the tripod thread is a rare and useful touch for anyone who already owns a small tripod or a clamp arm.
If your laptop only has USB-A: this is one of the few current portable monitors that still supports that route with the cable in the box, though the driver question above needs an answer from ASUS first. For the older USB-only ZenScreen approach, see the ASUS ZenScreen MB166C review.
If you need HDMI, speakers, a stated brightness or a high refresh rate: look elsewhere. The 14-inch ASUS ZenScreen MB14AC is the smaller ZenScreen, and our comparison pages cover 1080P portables with HDMI and speakers at similar money.
Final Verdict
The MB16ACVR fixes everything that held the old entry ZenScreen back: Full HD instead of 768p, IPS with a 178-degree angle instead of a 90-degree TN panel, 5ms instead of 10ms, and a kickstand instead of a folding case, at 1.8 lb and 0.4 inches with both cables and a sleeve in the box and a three-year warranty on top. What it keeps is ASUS’s habit of leaving the spec sheet thin: no brightness, no gamut, a contrast range instead of a figure, and a Power Delivery claim in the title that the listing never backs up.
If the second screen is for work and travel on a laptop with USB-C video, none of those gaps will bother you, and the certified eye-care backlight and tripod thread are things the cheaper no-name 1080P panels do not offer. If you need HDMI or sound, or you want to know how bright a screen is before you buy it, the gaps matter and the competition is wide. For a plain, well-made, single-cable 1080P monitor from a brand that will still answer the phone in three years, this is the ZenScreen to get.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does it work from a USB-A port?
Yes, with the USB-C to USB-A cable in the box, which carries both picture and power. USB-A has no built-in video signal, so this route runs through a driver on the computer; the listing does not name it, so check with ASUS for your operating system before buying for a USB-A-only laptop.
Is there an HDMI port?
No. Amazon lists two USB ports and nothing else, so game consoles, cameras and HDMI-only devices cannot connect. The dual USB-C and mini HDMI model on the same Amazon page is a different ZenScreen.
How bright is it?
The listing does not say. Neither ASUS’s bullets nor Amazon’s fields give a nit figure, and no colour-gamut percentage is given either. Treat it as an indoor screen until ASUS publishes the number.
Does it need a power adapter?
No. The monitor draws its power from the laptop over the same cable that carries the picture, and there is no adapter in the box. The title’s mention of USB-C Power Delivery is not explained in the listing.
What does “3 Year Warranty with ARR” mean?
The listing gives the three-year term but does not expand ARR. Ask ASUS support what the term covers in your country before you rely on it.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
- Teamgee 15.6″ Laptop Screen Extender Review
- ASUS ZenScreen 16″ Portable USB Monitor review
- Portable Monitor 17.3″ 144Hz Review
- YUTOO Triple Laptop Screen Extender Review
- ASUS ZenScreen 15.6″ Portable Monitor Review
End of editorial review · Interactive tools below
FIELD TOOLSFIELD TOOLS
These six tools address the critical decisions every laptop screen extender buyer faces — physical fit, hinge safety, OS display limits, setup complexity, form factor selection, and travel readiness. Each tool is category-level: they work for any extender, not just the one reviewed above. Full buying guide →


