Home » Laptop Screen Extenders » MAGICRAVEN 16″ 2.5K 120Hz Portable Gaming Monitor Review
Laptop Screen Extender Review
sections
Hinge stress assessed OS constraints disclosed Affiliate disclosed
Affiliate links present. We earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost. Full disclosure

MAGICRAVEN 16″ 2.5K 120Hz Portable Gaming Monitor Review

The MagicRaven M1601 puts a 2560x1600 IPS panel on 16 inches at 120Hz with 1ms and FreeSync Premium, in a 1.52 lb matte body with a smart cover. This review covers the 2.5K sharpness, the gaming case, the drop to 300 nits, what the listing leaves out, and who it suits

The MagicRaven M1601 is a 16-inch portable gaming monitor with a 2560×1600 IPS panel at 120Hz, a 1ms response time, FreeSync Premium and HDR, in a matte body 0.39 inches thick and 1.52 lb. MagicRaven quotes 300 nits, a 1200:1 contrast ratio, 100% sRGB and a 178-degree viewing angle, with a blue light filter, an anti-glare finish and a flicker-free backlight. It connects through two full-function USB-C ports or a mini HDMI port, has built-in speakers, comes with a PU leather smart cover that stands it in landscape or portrait, and carries a two-year warranty with a 30-day return window and a 90-day replacement period. It replaces the M16101, the 165Hz 1200P MagicRaven this page used to cover, which Amazon now lists as unavailable, and the trade is resolution for speed: 2.5K at 189 pixels per inch instead of 1200P at 142, and 120Hz instead of 165Hz, with 200 nits less brightness.

The listing needs a careful reading. The title calls the panel UHD and the fields call it QXGA Wide; the resolution is 2560×1600, which is 2.5K, and neither name fits. The 27 reviews and the 3.8-star rating are shared across five sizes from 16 to 23.8 inches, and the 16-inch option is the one covered here.

16.0" Plug & Play Portable Monitor, Second Laptop Screen Extender
MAGICRAVEN

16.0" Plug & Play Portable Monitor, Second Laptop Screen Extender

$9999
In Stock
Check Price on Amazon
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability are accurate as of the last sync and may change.

Key Specifications

Specification Detail
Screen Size 16 inches
Resolution 2560 x 1600 (2.5K), about 189 ppi; “UHD” in the title is wrong
Panel Type IPS, A-grade per MagicRaven; LED backlight per Amazon
Refresh Rate 120Hz
Response Time 1ms
Adaptive Sync AMD FreeSync Premium
HDR Listed
Brightness 300 nits
Contrast Ratio 1200:1
Color Gamut 100% sRGB
Viewing Angle 178 degrees
Aspect Ratio 16:10
Screen Finish Matte, anti-glare
Eye Care Blue light filter, flicker-free
Speakers Built in; output not stated
Ports 2x full-function USB-C, 1x mini HDMI, plus an OTG port for a keyboard or mouse
USB-C Requirement Thunderbolt 3/4 or USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode
Display Modes Main screen, mirror, extend; landscape or portrait
Stand PU leather smart cover, landscape and portrait
Mounting Wall mount listed; VESA pattern not stated
Weight 1.52 lb monitor only; 4.51 lb in Amazon’s field (boxed)
Thickness 0.39 inches
Power From the host over USB-C; draw not stated; adapter not stated
In the Box Smart cover; cables and adapter not listed
Model M1601
Warranty 2 years, with 30-day return and 90-day replacement
MAGICRAVEN M1601 16 inch 2.5K 120Hz Portable Gaming Monitor Key Specifications

120Hz, 1ms and FreeSync Premium

120Hz with a 1ms panel is a pairing that leaves nothing on the table: each frame is on screen for about 8.3ms and the pixels change well inside that, so fast motion stays clean. FreeSync Premium locks the refresh rate to the frame rate the source produces, which removes tearing and stutter when a game runs between 48 and 120 frames per second, and the Premium tier adds low-framerate compensation for the moments it drops below that. 120Hz is also the ceiling of the current consoles, so a PS5 or an Xbox Series X uses the whole panel over HDMI.

Buy the 16.0" Plug & Play Portable Monitor, Second Laptop Screen Extender on Amazon

The question is whether a laptop can feed 2560×1600 at 120 frames per second. A gaming laptop with a discrete GPU can in esports and older titles; integrated graphics will not, and at lower frame rates FreeSync Premium is what keeps the picture smooth. The old M16101 ran 165Hz at 1200P, an easier target for a mid-range GPU; this panel asks more of the graphics chip and gives back a sharper picture. For MagicRaven’s dual-screen extender, see the MagicRaven 14 inch Dual Extender review.

2.5K at 16:10

2560×1600 on 16 inches is about 189 pixels per inch, sharper than any 1080P or 1200P panel this size and sharper than most laptop screens. Text is crisp at every scaling level, and the 16:10 shape adds 160 rows over a 2560×1440 panel of the same width: more of a document, a spreadsheet or a code file before you scroll. Windows will want 150 percent scaling and macOS will pick a scaled mode; either way there is more working room than a 1200P panel gives. The old M16101’s 142 ppi looked fine; this looks like a laptop display.

300 Nits, 1200:1 and Matte

300 nits is the ordinary figure for a portable monitor and enough for an office and a window seat, and the matte anti-glare finish keeps reflections down in both. It is the one place the M1601 gives ground to the model it replaces, which quoted 500 nits and could be used in a sunlit room; this one cannot promise that. Contrast is 1200:1, a little above the IPS norm, and 100% sRGB is full coverage of the web colour space. HDR is listed, and on a 300-nit panel it is a supported signal rather than a change in the picture. The blue light filter and the flicker-free backlight are the eye-care features, and both are named in Amazon’s fields as well as MagicRaven’s bullets.

MAGICRAVEN M1601 16 inch 2.5K 120Hz Portable Gaming Monitor Display

1.52 lb and a Smart Cover

At 1.52 lb and 0.39 inches the M1601 is a little heavier and thicker than the M16101, and still a monitor that disappears into a laptop bag. Amazon’s 4.51 lb is the boxed weight. The smart cover is PU leather, protects the glass in the bag and folds into a stand that holds the screen in landscape or, turned on its side, in portrait, for a long document or a tall code window. Amazon lists wall mounting without a VESA pattern, so if an arm is the plan, confirm the holes with MagicRaven first.

Connectivity

Port Count Function
Full-function USB-C 2 Picture and power on one cable from a Thunderbolt 3/4 or DP Alt Mode port; power input when using HDMI
Mini HDMI 1 Picture from consoles, desktops and HDMI laptops
OTG 1 Keyboard or mouse; not for power, per MagicRaven

One USB-C cable from a laptop whose port carries video does everything, and MagicRaven names the requirement: Thunderbolt 3 or 4, or USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode. No driver or app is needed on any device, and MagicRaven lists laptops, PCs, phones, tablets, the Switch, PS4 and PS5, Xbox and even the Wii. Over HDMI the monitor still needs power through a USB-C port, and the listing does not say what is in the box beyond the smart cover, so assume you may need a USB-C cable, a mini HDMI cable and a charger, and ask before ordering if that matters. The OTG port takes a keyboard or mouse for a phone-as-desktop setup, and MagicRaven warns that it is not a power input. For what a USB-C port has to support, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.

What’s in the Box

The listing names the smart cover and nothing else. The M16101 shipped with a USB-C cable, an HDMI cable, a USB-A to USB-C cable and a power adapter; this listing does not say whether the M1601 does. Treat cables and adapter as unknown until MagicRaven confirms them.

Drawbacks

Consideration Detail
300 Nits, Down From 500 Indoor use only; the old model’s sunlit-room brightness is gone.
Box Contents Not Stated Only the smart cover is named. Cables and adapter unknown.
“UHD” in the Title The panel is 2560×1600, not 4K.
2.5K at 120Hz Needs a GPU Integrated graphics will not drive it at full rate in demanding games.
No VESA Pattern Wall mount listed without a size.
Speaker Output Not Stated Speakers are in the title with no figure.
Power Draw Not Stated The old model listed 11.4W; this one lists nothing.
Few Reviews, Shared 27 ratings at 3.8 stars across five sizes.
MAGICRAVEN M1601 16 inch 2.5K 120Hz Portable Gaming Monitor Drawbacks

Who This Monitor Is For

Gamers with a discrete GPU who want a sharp screen that keeps up: 2.5K at 120Hz with a 1ms panel and FreeSync Premium is a desktop gaming spec in a 1.52 lb package, and the console players get the full 120Hz over HDMI. The matte finish and the 16:10 shape make it just as good for the work between games.

Anyone who wants laptop-grade sharpness on a second screen: 189 pixels per inch matches or beats the laptop beside it, which is not true of any 1080P or 1200P portable. For the rest of the category, see our portable monitors pages.

Users who need brightness, a full box or a 60Hz bargain: the 300-nit panel is not for sunny desks, the box contents are unstated, and a 60Hz 2.5K panel costs less if the refresh rate will never be used. Our comparison pages cover both.

Final Verdict

The MagicRaven M1601 swaps the old M16101’s raw speed and brightness for resolution, and for most buyers that is the better deal: 2560×1600 at 189 ppi is a picture that 1200P cannot match, 120Hz with 1ms and FreeSync Premium is as fast as any console and most laptops can use, and the matte 16:10 panel with a smart cover at 1.52 lb is a good everyday second screen when the game is off.

The listing lets it down. The title calls a 2.5K panel UHD, the box contents stop at the cover, the power draw and speaker output are unstated, and 300 nits is a real step down from 500. Ask MagicRaven what ships in the box, and this is a strong 16-inch 2.5K gaming portable with a two-year warranty behind it. If brightness or a complete kit matters more than pixels, look elsewhere.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it 4K?
No. The title says UHD, but every specification field gives 2560×1600, which is 2.5K. The 17.3-inch option on the same listing is also 2.5K, at 144Hz.

Will I actually see 120Hz?
Over USB-C from a laptop with a discrete GPU, yes, in games it can run at 120 frames per second at 2560×1600. A PS5 or Xbox Series X gets 120Hz over HDMI in supported titles. At lower frame rates FreeSync Premium keeps the picture smooth.

What comes in the box?
The listing names only the smart cover. Cables and a power adapter are not mentioned, so confirm with MagicRaven before relying on them.

What is the OTG port for?
A keyboard or mouse, for using the monitor as the main screen of a phone or tablet. MagicRaven states it is not a power input; power comes in through the USB-C ports.

Can I use it for productivity only?
Yes. 2.5K at 16:10, 100% sRGB, matte, speakers and a portrait-capable cover make it a good work screen; you would simply be paying for a refresh rate you do not use.

Buy the 16.0" Plug & Play Portable Monitor, Second Laptop Screen Extender on Amazon

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

End of editorial review · Interactive tools below

◆ ScreenExtendersHub Intelligence ◆

FIELD TOOLSFIELD TOOLS

Category-level decision tools for any laptop screen extender

These six tools address the critical decisions every laptop screen extender buyer faces — physical fit, hinge safety, OS display limits, setup complexity, form factor selection, and travel readiness. Each tool is category-level: they work for any extender, not just the one reviewed above. Full buying guide →

Laptop Fit VerifierWill a clamp-style extender fit your laptop? Buying guide

1 Laptop screen size
2 Lid thickness

Hinge Stress Risk AssessmentIs your laptop built to handle the extra weight?

1 Laptop weight
2 Chassis type

Display Count Compatibility MatrixCan your system drive dual or triple screens? Glossary

1 Operating system
2 Processor

Setup Complexity EstimatorHow long will your first setup take? FAQ

1 Experience level
2 Your OS
3 Needs DisplayLink?

Extender Type SelectorWhich form factor fits your needs? All extenders

Travel Readiness EvaluatorIs a laptop extender right for your mobility pattern?

1 How often do you travel with your laptop?
2 Typical bag?
3 Set up in public?
4 Acceptable setup time?
Editorial Independence: ScreenExtendersHub participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. Recommendations are never influenced by commissions. Read our disclosure and methodology.
ScreenExtendersHub Laptop Extender Review
Scroll to Top