Home » Docking Stations » WAVLINK USB-C Docking Station Review
Docking Station Review
sections
Port standards decoded Compatibility verified
Affiliate links present. We earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost. Full disclosure

WAVLINK USB-C Docking Station Review

StatusVerified · May 2026
Re-verifyMay 2027
How we review docking stations: Every review follows our structured methodology — port protocol verification, power delivery testing, display compatibility matrix, and OS constraint disclosure. Constraints disclosed before any affiliate link.

WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C dock review: dual HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet, 5 USB ports, SD/TF, audio, 85W charging. One screen at 4K@60Hz, two or three at 2K

Thirteen ports from one USB-C cable, in a dongle that weighs 3.2 ounces and costs less than a good HDMI cable used to. The WAVLINK 13-in-1 gives a Windows laptop two HDMI outputs and a DisplayPort, Gigabit Ethernet, three USB 3.0 ports, two USB 2.0 ports, SD and TF card readers, a headphone and mic jack, and up to 85W of pass-through charging from a USB-C power adapter you supply. Nothing to install: plug it in and the ports work. It is the full-hub answer to the question the older four-video-port WAVLINK only half answered, and at 5.5 by 2.1 by 1.4 inches it still travels in a jacket pocket.

Read the display bullet before buying it for three monitors. On a DisplayPort 1.4 laptop, a single monitor on HDMI 1 or the DisplayPort runs at 4K@60Hz and a single monitor on HDMI 2 at 4K@30Hz, but the moment you attach two or three screens they all run at 2K@60Hz. Mac users get mirroring only. The charger and its cable are not in the box, and WAVLINK wants a 100W one. Amazon’s warranty field reads “1”, which is presumably one year; confirm before you rely on it.

WAVLINK USB C Laptop Docking Station Triple Dual Monitor for Dell/Lenovo/HP
WAVLINK

WAVLINK USB C Laptop Docking Station Triple Dual Monitor for Dell/Lenovo/HP

$4999
In Stock
Check Price on Amazon
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability are accurate as of the last sync and may change.

Key Specifications

Specification Detail
Total Ports 13
HDMI 2 (HDMI 1 up to 4K@60Hz, HDMI 2 up to 4K@30Hz, single-display figures)
DisplayPort 1 (up to 4K@60Hz, single display)
Dual or Triple Display 2K@60Hz on each screen, Windows only
USB 3.0 3 (5 Gbps)
USB 2.0 2 (480 Mbps)
USB-C PD Input 1 (up to 100W in, up to 85W to the laptop)
Gigabit Ethernet RJ-45 1
SD / TF Card Readers 1 each, simultaneous reading
Audio 3.5mm mic and headphone jack
VGA None
macOS Display Mirror only; no independent extend
Driver Required No. Plug and play.
Host Port USB-C, USB4 or Thunderbolt 3/4 with DisplayPort Alt Mode and Power Delivery
Compatible OS Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS
Charger 20V/5A (100W) USB-C adapter recommended; adapter and cable not included
Enclosure Not stated
Weight 3.2 oz
Dimensions 5.5 x 2.1 x 1.4 inches
Manufacturer WAVLINK
Warranty Listed as “1” on Amazon; presumably one year
WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Key Specifications

Display Output: 4K for One Screen, 2K for Two or Three

The dock has three video outputs and WAVLINK is precise about what each does. With a laptop that offers DisplayPort 1.4 over USB-C, one monitor on HDMI 1 or on the DisplayPort gets 4K@60Hz, the smooth kind of 4K where scrolling and cursor movement feel right. One monitor on HDMI 2 gets 4K@30Hz, sharp but visibly less fluid in motion. Connect a second or a third screen and all of them run at 2K@60Hz, which is WAVLINK’s way of saying the laptop’s single USB-C link is shared between them. Two or three 1440p screens at 60Hz is a good working desk; it is not a triple 4K desk, and the listing does not pretend it is.

WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C dock with dual HDMI DisplayPort Ethernet and 85W charging

Configuration Resolution Ports Used
Single display (DP 1.4 source) 4K@60Hz HDMI 1 or DisplayPort
Single display (DP 1.4 source) 4K@30Hz HDMI 2
Dual or triple display 2K@60Hz on each screen Any two or all three video ports

Two conditions sit under all of that. The laptop’s USB-C port must carry video, which WAVLINK calls DisplayPort Alt Mode, or none of the three outputs will show a picture; the listing says plainly that not every USB-C device supports HDMI or DisplayPort output, and to check before buying. And the 4K figures assume a DP 1.4 source; an older DP 1.2 port will give less. For how USB-C video output works, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.

macOS: Mirror Only

WAVLINK says macOS is not supported for extended displays. Plug a MacBook in and all the external screens show the same picture, so a triple setup is three copies of one desktop. That is the normal behaviour of a native USB-C hub on a Mac, not a fault, but it means this dock is a Windows and ChromeOS product for anyone who wants separate screens. For independent displays on a Mac, a DisplayLink dock does it through a driver; WAVLINK’s own is reviewed in the WAVLINK Triple 4K@60Hz DisplayLink Docking Station review.

WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station macOS and Ports

USB, Ethernet, Cards and Audio

Three USB 3.0 ports at 5 Gbps take the external drive, the webcam and the printer; two USB 2.0 ports take the keyboard and mouse receivers. WAVLINK adds a note worth heeding: USB 3.0 ports can throw off radio interference that upsets 2.4 GHz wireless receivers, so put the mouse and keyboard dongles in the USB 2.0 ports and leave the 3.0 ports for things with cables. The SD and TF slots read at the same time, which suits anyone importing from a camera and a drone in one sitting. The RJ45 port is Gigabit Ethernet, the difference between a stable video call and a hopeful one on busy office Wi-Fi. A 3.5mm jack handles a headset with a mic.

85W Charging, Charger Not Included

The USB-C PD input takes up to 100W from a power adapter and passes up to 85W through to the laptop, keeping the rest for the dock and its ports. That is enough to charge most 13 to 15-inch laptops at full speed while everything else runs. Two things to plan for. WAVLINK asks for a 20V/5A adapter, which is a 100W charger, and does not include one or the cable; a weaker charger gives the laptop proportionally less. And the laptop’s USB-C port must support Power Delivery for the pass-through to work at all. Many laptops’ own USB-C chargers will do the job, so the cost is often zero, but it is a step to check.

Compatibility

The host port can be USB-C, USB4 or Thunderbolt 3 or 4, as long as it supports both DisplayPort Alt Mode and Power Delivery. WAVLINK names Windows 10 and 11 and ChromeOS, with Dell XPS 13 and 15, Lenovo Yoga, HP and Surface laptops and the Chromebook Pixel as examples. Linux and Android are not mentioned on this listing, and neither is the enclosure material.

Drawbacks

Consideration Detail
Multi-Monitor Drops to 2K Two or three screens run at 2K@60Hz, not 4K.
HDMI 2 at 4K@30Hz Only HDMI 1 and the DisplayPort reach 4K@60Hz.
Mac: Mirror Only No independent extend on macOS.
Charger Not Included 100W USB-C adapter and cable are yours to supply.
No VGA The older 7-in-1’s projector port is gone.
USB 3.0 Interference WAVLINK advises keeping wireless receivers on the USB 2.0 ports.
Warranty Unclear Amazon’s field reads “1”; presumably one year.
Enclosure Not Stated Material not given on the listing.
WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Drawbacks

Who This Dock Is For

Windows and ChromeOS laptop owners who want the whole desk on one cable for very little money: Two or three 1440p screens, or one 4K@60Hz screen, plus Ethernet, five USB ports, card readers, audio and charging, with nothing to install. Dell XPS, Lenovo Yoga, HP and Surface users are the crowd WAVLINK names, and the 3.2 oz weight means the same dock goes in the bag for the client’s office.

Anyone who already owns a 100W USB-C charger: Plug it into the PD input and the dock becomes the laptop’s charger as well. If you do not own one, add its price to the $42.99 before comparing.

Mac users, or anyone who needs triple 4K: A Mac gets mirroring only, and three screens on this dock are 2K screens. For independent Mac displays or three 4K monitors, see the DisplayLink docks on our docking stations hub page.

Final Verdict

The WAVLINK 13-in-1 is the sensible everyday dock: every port a Windows laptop desk needs, driver-free, in a dongle small enough to forget about, at a price that makes the missing charger easy to forgive. Its honesty is its best feature. WAVLINK tells you that a single screen gets 4K@60Hz, that two or three screens get 2K@60Hz, that a Mac only mirrors, and that the charger is not in the box, and once you know those four things there are no surprises left. For a Windows or ChromeOS laptop with a full-featured USB-C port and one to three 1440p monitors, it does the job of docks costing three times as much.

Buy WAVLINK 13-in-1 USB-C docking station with dual HDMI DisplayPort and 85W charging

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I run three 4K monitors?
No. WAVLINK rates dual and triple display at 2K@60Hz per screen. 4K is for a single monitor: 4K@60Hz on HDMI 1 or the DisplayPort, 4K@30Hz on HDMI 2, with a DP 1.4 laptop.

Can I extend different desktops on my MacBook?
No. macOS shows the same picture on every external monitor through this dock. For independent Mac displays, use a DisplayLink dock with its driver.

Does this charge my laptop?
Yes, up to 85W, but only with your own USB-C power adapter plugged into the PD input. WAVLINK recommends a 100W (20V/5A) adapter and includes neither the adapter nor the cable. The laptop’s USB-C port must support Power Delivery.

Why does WAVLINK say to use the USB 2.0 ports for peripherals?
USB 3.0 ports can generate radio interference that affects 2.4 GHz wireless receivers. Keeping mouse and keyboard dongles on the USB 2.0 ports avoids it, and those devices do not need USB 3.0 speed anyway.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Editorial accountability
Operator on record · Docking & connectivity desk
Boniface Musembi
Boniface Musembi

I evaluate docking stations the way they actually get used — against real bandwidth budgets, power-delivery ceilings, and the OS handshakes that quietly cap what a port can do — not spec-sheet promises. Every constraint that can break a multi-display setup is disclosed before any affiliate link.

Review focus
Docking stations, port protocols & multi-display connectivity
Standards referenced
USB-IF, VESA, Intel Thunderbolt & HDMI Forum specifications
Verified
May 2026 · re-verify May 2027
Before You Buy Any Docking Station
Verify these before purchasing. Applies to every dock, not just this one.
Identified your laptop’s exact port type (USB-C vs TB 3/4/5)?
Confirmed your laptop’s power delivery requirement?
Counted how many external monitors you need?
Verified your OS supports the dock’s display method?
Checked compatibility exclusions (M1/M2 Macs, AMD)?
Want deeper analysis?
This review covers the essentials. Our resources go further:
Share
Copied!

Docking Station Intelligence

The standards are confusing by design. These three panels decode what manufacturers won’t explain clearly. Applicable to every docking station.

The USB-C Confusion Matrix

The USB-C connector is the single greatest source of buyer confusion in docking stations. The physical plug looks identical whether it carries USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps or Thunderbolt 5 at 120 Gbps — a 250x difference in capability hidden behind the same shape. Manufacturers exploit this by labeling everything "USB-C compatible" without specifying which protocol runs through it. Two docks can look identical on the outside and behave completely differently once you plug them in.

The hierarchy matters because it determines everything: how many monitors your dock can drive, how fast files transfer, whether your laptop charges while docked, and whether you need third-party drivers. Here is the real capability ladder, from slowest to fastest:

The practical takeaway: if your laptop has Thunderbolt 4, buy a Thunderbolt dock. If it only has generic USB-C, verify whether it supports DisplayPort Alt Mode before buying anything with multi-monitor claims. Our buying guide walks through verification steps for every major laptop brand.

Power Delivery: What the Watts Mean

Power Delivery (PD) determines whether your docking station can charge your laptop while you work, or whether you need a separate charger cluttering your desk. The math is simple but rarely explained: your laptop draws a specific wattage under load, and the dock must match or exceed it. If the dock delivers less than your laptop needs, the battery slowly drains even while plugged in — defeating the purpose of a docking station entirely.

Most ultrabooks need 45–65W. Standard business laptops need 65–100W. Gaming and workstation laptops can demand 100–140W or more. The dock’s advertised PD wattage is the maximum it can deliver to your laptop — but this drops if you charge other devices (phones, tablets) through the dock simultaneously. Always leave a 15–20W margin above your laptop’s requirement.

Check your laptop’s original charger wattage — that’s your baseline. Our FAQ covers how to find this for every major brand.

Native Display vs DisplayLink: The Hidden Factor

This is the decision most buyers don’t know they’re making. When a docking station outputs video to your monitors, it uses one of two fundamentally different methods: native (the dock passes your laptop’s GPU signal directly to the monitor) or DisplayLink (the dock compresses video over USB and a software driver renders it). The difference is invisible in marketing materials but profoundly affects your daily experience.

Native output through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt uses your laptop’s actual graphics hardware. There is zero added latency, full DRM support for streaming services, no CPU overhead, and no driver to install. DisplayLink, by contrast, adds 5–15ms of latency (noticeable in video calls and cursor movement), blocks DRM content on connected monitors (Netflix, Disney+ show black screens), consumes 3–8% of your CPU constantly, and requires a driver that Apple’s macOS security updates occasionally break.

DisplayLink exists for one reason: Apple Silicon base chips (M1, M2, M3) can only drive one external display natively. If you need two or more monitors on a base MacBook Air or 13” MacBook Pro, DisplayLink is your only option. For everyone else — Windows users, Mac Pro/Max chip users, Intel/AMD laptops — native is always the better choice.

Native (Alt Mode / Thunderbolt)

LatencyNone
DRM ContentFull support
CPU UsageZero
Max Resolution8K / 4K quad
DriverNot needed
Battery ImpactMinimal

DisplayLink (USB compression)

Latency5–15ms
DRM ContentOften blocked
CPU Usage3–8%
Max Resolution4K dual
DriverRequired
Battery Impact15–25% more

The bottom line: if your laptop supports native multi-display output, always choose a native dock. DisplayLink is a workaround, not an upgrade. See our glossary for detailed definitions.

◆ ScreenExtendersHub Intelligence ◆

COMMAND CENTERCOMMAND CENTER

Interactive decision tools for any docking station

Six tools that decode the confusion manufacturers create. Port protocols, power budgets, display configurations, compatibility, desk planning, and future-proofing. Full buying guide →

Port Protocol DecoderWhat does your connection type actually support? Glossary

1 Dock connection type

Power Delivery CalculatorCan this dock keep your laptop charged?

1 Your laptop needs
2 Dock’s max PD output

Display Configuration PlannerCan your dock push enough pixels?

1 How many monitors?
2 Resolution per monitor
3 Dock protocol

Laptop-to-Dock CompatibilityWill this dock work with YOUR laptop?

1 Laptop brand
2 Your port type

Desk Setup ArchitectWhat ports do you actually need?

Select everything you need to connect:

Standards Future-Proofing AdvisorWhich standard should you invest in?

1 When did you buy your laptop?
2 How long do you keep docks?
Connected Categories
Using a dock with a laptop extender?
Docks and extenders share USB-C bandwidth and power budget.
Laptop extenders
Need a portable monitor for travel?
Docks are desk-bound. Portable monitors travel with you.
Portable monitors
Building a permanent multi-monitor desk?
Dock handles connectivity. Desktop extenders handle display layout.
Desktop extenders
Editorial Independence: ScreenExtendersHub participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. Recommendations are never influenced by commissions. Read our disclosure and methodology.
ScreenExtendersHub Docking Station Review
Scroll to Top