iVANKY Laptop Docking Station Review
iVANKY's FusionDock 2 stands a MacBook Pro upright and docks it in one motion: two HDMI ports at 4K@60Hz, a 150W adapter in the box, 96W charging, four 5Gbps USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, SD and TF readers and audio. MacBook only; base M1 and M2 get one screen.
A vertical stand that turns a closed MacBook Pro into a desktop: two HDMI ports at 4K@60Hz, a 150W power adapter in the box, 96W charging, four 5Gbps USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, SD and TF readers and a headphone jack, twelve ports in all. The iVANKY FusionDock 2 is a MacBook dock and nothing else; the compatibility list runs from the 2016 Intel MacBooks through the M1 and M2 Pro and Max to the M3, M4 and M5 series, and Windows is not on it. The MacBook stands upright in the dock, which frees the desk space a flat laptop takes and puts every port at the back of the stand.
Two things the title does not tell you. Whether the second HDMI port gives you a second screen depends on which MacBook you own, and iVANKY spells that out in its first two bullets: base M1 and M2 machines get one display, most others get two. And the USB count is quoted three ways, six in the title, seven in Amazon’s field, five named in the bullets. 3.14 lb, silver, 24-month warranty with a replacement promise.

iVANKY 12-in-2 Dual Display Dock for MacBook Pro with 150W Power Adapter
Key Specifications
| Specification | Detail |
|---|---|
| Form | Vertical docking stand, MacBook held upright |
| Total Ports | 12 |
| HDMI | 2 (dual 4K@60Hz on supported MacBooks; 4K@60Hz plus 4K@30Hz on others) |
| USB 3.0 | 4 (5Gbps) |
| USB-C PD | 1 (18W for phones and tablets) |
| USB Ports in Total | Title says 6, Amazon’s field says 7, the bullets name 5 |
| Gigabit Ethernet RJ-45 | 1 (1000 Mbps) |
| SD Card Reader | 1 (listing quotes up to 104Mb/s) |
| TF/MicroSD Reader | 1 (listing quotes up to 104Mb/s) |
| Audio | 3.5mm jack |
| Laptop Charging | Up to 96W |
| Power Adapter | 150W included |
| Host Connection | 12-in-2 design for the MacBook’s USB-C ports |
| Driver | None mentioned; uses the Mac’s native display outputs |
| Compatible Devices | Intel MacBooks 2016 to 2020, M1 Pro and Max, M2 Pro and Max, M3, M4 and M5 series |
| Not Compatible | Windows laptops; base M1 and M2 limited to one display |
| Weight | 3.14 lb |
| Dimensions | Not stated |
| Colour | Silver |
| Manufacturer | iVANKY |
| Product Name | FusionDock 2 |
| Warranty | 24 months |
Dual 4K@60Hz, Depending on the MacBook
Two HDMI ports at 4K@60Hz is the standard a desk dock should meet, and the FusionDock 2 meets it on most of the MacBooks it lists. But a dock cannot give a Mac more displays than Apple’s chip allows, and iVANKY is unusually clear about which Mac gets what. This is the table to read before ordering.
| MacBook | External Displays Through the Dock |
|---|---|
| MacBook Pro with M1 or M2 Pro or Max (2021, 2023) | Two, 4K@60Hz each |
| M3, M4 and M5 series | Two, 4K@60Hz each |
| 15″ MacBook Pro 2017 to 2019, 16″ MacBook Pro 2019, 2020 Intel MacBooks | Two, 4K@60Hz each |
| Other supported Intel models | Two, one at 4K@60Hz and one at 4K@30Hz |
| Base M1 (2020) and base M2 (2022) | One |
Those limits are the sign that this is a native dock rather than a DisplayLink one. A DisplayLink dock would get two screens out of a base M1 by rendering them in software; the FusionDock 2 passes the Mac’s own video signal to the HDMI ports, which is why iVANKY mentions no driver, why there is no processor overhead, and why protected streaming video plays on the external monitors. It also means a base M1 or M2 owner buying this for two screens will get one, and should know that before checkout. For how USB-C video output works, see our USB-C portable monitor guide.
150W Adapter Included, 96W to the MacBook
The power brick comes in the box, and it is a large one at 150W. Of that the dock sends up to 96W to the MacBook, the rate Apple’s own 16-inch charger delivers, and 18W to a phone or tablet on the USB-C PD port at the same time. There is no charging drop to manage when the phone port is busy; the adapter has the headroom for both. The MacBook’s own charger can stay in the bag.
USB, Ethernet, Cards and Audio
Four USB 3.0 ports at 5Gbps cover an external SSD, a webcam, a printer and a wired keyboard. The 18W USB-C port is for charging a phone or tablet. Beyond those five, the listing disagrees with itself: the title says six USB ports, Amazon’s field says seven, and the bullets describe five. Check the product photos for the exact count and types before you plan the desk around it. Five gigabits per second is USB 3.0 speed rather than the 10Gbps of newer docks, which matters for large video transfers from a fast SSD and not much else.
The RJ45 port is Gigabit Ethernet for a wired connection on a MacBook that has none. The SD and TF slots are quoted at up to 104Mb/s on the listing; that number matches the UHS-I ceiling of 104 MB/s, so read the unit as iVANKY’s slip rather than a slow reader. A 3.5mm jack finishes the set.
Vertical Stand, Mac Only
The FusionDock 2 is a stand first. The MacBook slots into it upright, lid closed, and connects through iVANKY’s 12-in-2 arrangement on the Mac’s USB-C ports, so docking is one motion rather than a handful of cables. Standing the laptop up reclaims most of the desk it would otherwise cover, and it suits the monitor-first desk where the MacBook’s own screen stays off. At 3.14 lb it is not going anywhere, and the 150W adapter settles that anyway. iVANKY does not give the dimensions, so if you have a shallow shelf, ask before buying.
The compatibility line is the whole story: Intel MacBooks from 2016 to 2020, the M1 and M2 Pro and Max, and the M3, M4 and M5 series. There is no Windows support, and a base M1 or M2 gets a single screen. The listing also mentions a free bonus item with purchase; what it is, the listing does not say.
Drawbacks
| Consideration | Detail |
|---|---|
| MacBook Only | No Windows support. |
| Base M1/M2: One Screen | Only one external display on those chips. |
| 4K@60Hz, Not 120Hz | Fine for work; not a high-refresh dock. |
| USB Count Inconsistent | Six in the title, seven in Amazon’s field, five in the bullets. |
| USB 3.0, Not Gen 2 | 5Gbps, not 10Gbps. |
| HDMI Version Not Stated | Not given on the listing. |
| Dimensions Not Stated | Only weight is given: 3.14 lb. |
| Desk-Bound | Vertical stand with a 150W external adapter. |
Who This Dock Is For
MacBook Pro owners who run the laptop closed on a desk with two monitors: This is what a vertical dock is for. Slot the Mac in, and two 4K@60Hz screens, 96W charging, four USB ports, Ethernet, card readers and audio come up together, with the 150W brick included and nothing to install. For an iVANKY dock that also works on Windows, see the iVANKY 8-in-1 Docking Station review.
Base M1 or M2 MacBook owners who need two external screens, and anyone on Windows: This dock gives the base chips one screen and gives Windows nothing. For two or three screens on a base M-series Mac, a DisplayLink dock does the job at the cost of a driver; see the options on our docking stations hub page.
Final Verdict
The iVANKY FusionDock 2 is a MacBook desk dock that stands the laptop up and does the two things Mac owners buy a dock for, dual 4K and full-speed charging, without a driver or a separate power brick to buy. Twelve ports, 96W to the laptop, 18W to the phone, Gigabit Ethernet, SD and TF, audio, and a 24-month warranty with a replacement promise. The honest limits are Apple’s and the listing’s own: base M1 and M2 chips get one screen, Windows gets nothing, USB is 5Gbps, the USB count is quoted three different ways, and neither the HDMI version nor the dimensions are given. For a Pro or Max MacBook, or an M3, M4 or M5, on a desk with two monitors, it is a tidy way to make the laptop disappear into a desktop.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need to install a driver?
iVANKY mentions none. The dock uses the Mac’s own display outputs, which is why the number of screens follows Apple’s per-chip limits rather than the dock’s.
Will my M2 MacBook Air get two monitors?
No. iVANKY states that the 2020 M1 and 2022 M2 base MacBooks support one external display through this dock. Two displays need a Pro or Max chip, an M3, M4 or M5, or one of the listed Intel MacBooks.
Does it work with a Windows laptop?
No. The compatibility list is MacBooks only.
Is the charger included?
Yes. A 150W adapter is in the box, delivering up to 96W to the MacBook and 18W to the USB-C PD port at the same time.
How many USB ports does it have?
The bullets describe four USB 3.0 ports and one 18W USB-C port. The title says six and Amazon’s field says seven, so check the listing photos for the exact layout.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
I evaluate docking stations the way they actually get used — against real bandwidth budgets, power-delivery ceilings, and the OS handshakes that quietly cap what a port can do — not spec-sheet promises. Every constraint that can break a multi-display setup is disclosed before any affiliate link.
Docking Station Intelligence
The standards are confusing by design. These three panels decode what manufacturers won’t explain clearly. Applicable to every docking station.
The USB-C Confusion Matrix
The USB-C connector is the single greatest source of buyer confusion in docking stations. The physical plug looks identical whether it carries USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps or Thunderbolt 5 at 120 Gbps — a 250x difference in capability hidden behind the same shape. Manufacturers exploit this by labeling everything "USB-C compatible" without specifying which protocol runs through it. Two docks can look identical on the outside and behave completely differently once you plug them in.
The hierarchy matters because it determines everything: how many monitors your dock can drive, how fast files transfer, whether your laptop charges while docked, and whether you need third-party drivers. Here is the real capability ladder, from slowest to fastest:
The practical takeaway: if your laptop has Thunderbolt 4, buy a Thunderbolt dock. If it only has generic USB-C, verify whether it supports DisplayPort Alt Mode before buying anything with multi-monitor claims. Our buying guide walks through verification steps for every major laptop brand.
Power Delivery: What the Watts Mean
Power Delivery (PD) determines whether your docking station can charge your laptop while you work, or whether you need a separate charger cluttering your desk. The math is simple but rarely explained: your laptop draws a specific wattage under load, and the dock must match or exceed it. If the dock delivers less than your laptop needs, the battery slowly drains even while plugged in — defeating the purpose of a docking station entirely.
Most ultrabooks need 45–65W. Standard business laptops need 65–100W. Gaming and workstation laptops can demand 100–140W or more. The dock’s advertised PD wattage is the maximum it can deliver to your laptop — but this drops if you charge other devices (phones, tablets) through the dock simultaneously. Always leave a 15–20W margin above your laptop’s requirement.
Check your laptop’s original charger wattage — that’s your baseline. Our FAQ covers how to find this for every major brand.
Native Display vs DisplayLink: The Hidden Factor
This is the decision most buyers don’t know they’re making. When a docking station outputs video to your monitors, it uses one of two fundamentally different methods: native (the dock passes your laptop’s GPU signal directly to the monitor) or DisplayLink (the dock compresses video over USB and a software driver renders it). The difference is invisible in marketing materials but profoundly affects your daily experience.
Native output through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt uses your laptop’s actual graphics hardware. There is zero added latency, full DRM support for streaming services, no CPU overhead, and no driver to install. DisplayLink, by contrast, adds 5–15ms of latency (noticeable in video calls and cursor movement), blocks DRM content on connected monitors (Netflix, Disney+ show black screens), consumes 3–8% of your CPU constantly, and requires a driver that Apple’s macOS security updates occasionally break.
DisplayLink exists for one reason: Apple Silicon base chips (M1, M2, M3) can only drive one external display natively. If you need two or more monitors on a base MacBook Air or 13” MacBook Pro, DisplayLink is your only option. For everyone else — Windows users, Mac Pro/Max chip users, Intel/AMD laptops — native is always the better choice.
Native (Alt Mode / Thunderbolt)
DisplayLink (USB compression)
The bottom line: if your laptop supports native multi-display output, always choose a native dock. DisplayLink is a workaround, not an upgrade. See our glossary for detailed definitions.
COMMAND CENTERCOMMAND CENTER
Six tools that decode the confusion manufacturers create. Port protocols, power budgets, display configurations, compatibility, desk planning, and future-proofing. Full buying guide →
Port Protocol DecoderWhat does your connection type actually support? Glossary
Power Delivery CalculatorCan this dock keep your laptop charged?
Display Configuration PlannerCan your dock push enough pixels?
Laptop-to-Dock CompatibilityWill this dock work with YOUR laptop?
Desk Setup ArchitectWhat ports do you actually need?
Select everything you need to connect:



